What to Read After... Supertato

Published on: 17 November 2020 Author: Scott Evans

Supertato by Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet is a story that gets asked for again and again - but if your children (or you!) are ready to try something new, teacher Scott Evans has some great ideas! Don't forget to share your recommendations too...

The front covers of the books in the Supertato series

Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet's fantastically funny Supertato, published in 2014, is tremendously popular with preschool and early years-aged children and is now a firm family favourite.

That's no surprise, as the Supertato books are a laugh-out-loud series of stories about an unlikely superhero spud, filled with bright and bold illustrations and clever text. We follow Supertato on his many missions to protect the other vegetables from the Evil Pea and save the world.

There are, of course, all the other brilliant books from the Hendra & Linnet partnership to check out too: Barry the Fish with Fingers, No-Bot: the Robot with No Bottom, Cake, Egg, I Need a Wee!... but if you need a recommendation for something new after reading Supertato, here are some ideas!

For more veggie-inspired adventures...



An illustration from The Runaway Pea

The Runaway Pea by Kjartan Poskitt and Alex Willmore is BookTrust's 2020 Time to Read book, which means that over 750,000 copies of it will be given out free to Reception children in England. It presents the colourful and clever perspective of a pea on a runaway journey from its plate, determined not to be eaten.

Colin and Lee: Carrot and Pea by Morag Hood is an amusing look at an unlikely friendship between two very different vegetables, with a lovely message about embracing other people's differences as strengths.

T-Veg: The Tale of a Carrot Crunching Dinosaur by Smriti Prasadam-Halls and Katherina Manolessou is also a tale about how it's good to be different and unapologetically yourself - from the viewpoint of a vegetarian Tyrannosaurus Rex.

New studies suggest that children have an increased appetite for vegetables if they are regularly shown pictures of them, so why not use picture books like Veg Patch Party by Clare Foges and Al Murphy (part of the very successful Kitchen Disco series), Oliver's Vegetables by Vivian French and Alison Bartlett, and Lauren Child's I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato to familiarise them with eating their five-a-day in a funny, rhyming and memorable way.

For more food-based fiction...

An illustration of a hot dog from Hello Hot Dog

Had enough vegetables? There are lots of other food-based fictional adventures your children might enjoy. Try the award-winning Best Laugh Out Loud Picture Book from the Lollies Book Awards 2020, Ten Fat Sausages by Michelle Robinson and Tor Freeman - it tells the subversively silly story of sausages making a great escape from their saucepan and will remind readers of the nursery rhyme, as well as being a counting book to help little ones.

For more funny food-based stories, there's Hello, Hot Dog! by Lily Murray and Jarvis, which is told in a delightful conversational style and is likely to induce plenty of laughing out loud in young readers. And then there's How to Eat Pizza by Jon Burgerman, which is equally guaranteed to provide many giggles.

For small superheroes who love the Supertato stories...

An illustration from Superhero Mum

If you're looking for other picture books about superheroes, Timothy Knapman and Joe Berger's Superhero Parents series feature lovely stories to share together as a family.

And if you want to read books where the child is the main character who saves the day, we really recommend reading Superkid by Claire Freedman and Sarah McIntyre, Superhero Baby by Patricia Hegarty and Alex Willmore and Super Daisy by Kes Gray and Nick Sharratt.

Or, for something completely different, Michael Foreman's Superfrog has some of Supertato's superhero storylines alongside an underwater theme from the perspective of a frog.

For more Supertato series suggestions...



The front cover of Supertato: Veggies in the Valley of Doom

With Supertato being the first book in the bestselling seven-book series, there's plenty more to read. So why not try all of them?

Next in the series is Supertato: Veggies Assemble, followed by Supertato: Run Veggies Run; Supertato: Evil Pea Rules; Supertato: Veggies in the Valley of Doom; Supertato: Carnival Catastro-Pea! and published just this year, Supertato Super Squad!

There have even been a couple of Superato mini-books published to celebrate World Book Day - Supertato: Hap-pea Ever After and Supertato: Books Are Rubbish!

The best thing is that you can read the books in any order, although we recommend starting with book one to get to know the characters. So get ready to have lots of foodish fun with the whole SUPER series!

Join in!

You've heard our suggestions - now we'd love you to tell us yours! Do you know the perfect book for a fan of the Supertato series? Did your little one go from reading Supertato to another brilliant story?

We'd love to hear which books you've enjoyed sharing after Superato! Let us know by leaving your comments in the box below, or by tweeting us @BookTrust, using the hashtag #WhatToReadAfter... we can't wait to hear your recommendations.


Add a comment

Give £10 today and send a book gift to a vulnerable child

Christmas won't be magical for every child. A special book gift can add sparkle.

Can you help?