Competitions

This is your chance to try your luck and win some brilliant prizes in BookTrust competitions.

We run various giveaways - from book bundles to signed copies and very special merchandise - so take a look below to find out which treats you could get your hands on at the moment. Keep your fingers crossed...

Please note that we’re currently experiencing delays in posting prizes due to the COVID-19 outbreak and the need for many publishers to work at home, but we are aiming to get prizes sent out as soon as possible.

Current competitions

Win two hilarious and heartfelt adventure books with a historical twist – from the writer of the Paddington 2 movie

If you want magic, mayhem and oodles of silliness, then Simon Farnaby's two books about a warlock called Merdyn are the books you need to win!

Bat Can't Sleep: Win this fabulously fun bedtime story

We're giving away five copies of this playful, interactive tale of a bat who is too excited to sleep through the day.

Win two laugh-out-loud spooky comic books by Searra Miller

Haunted houses, evil curses, spooky doppelgängers... the world's greatest Paranormal Investigator Mason Mooney has his work cut out! Here's how you can win two brilliant books in Searra Miller's series.

Win a beautiful guide to the history of Afro hair

We're giving away five copies of The Story of Afro Hair by K. N. Chimbiri and Joelle Avelino, which explores 5,000 years of Afro hairstories.

Win a brilliant bundle of Yaba Badoe books

To celebrate the release of Lionheart Girl, we've got three incredible books by author and filmmaker Yaba Badoe to give away to a lucky winner.

The Dragon with the Blazing Bottom: Win this hilarious book and a personalised drawing

This book about a dragon on a new meal plan is sure to get your whole family giggling.

Celebrate Irish Book Week by winning this beautiful celebration of the Emerald Isle

Find out how you could win one of five copies of the brilliant Ireland: The People, The Places, The Stories.

Win a huge haul of board books from the award-winning Felt Flap series, including the brand-new Where's Mr Polar Bear

These tactile, sensory reads have a fabulous retro vibe and are perfect for sharing with babies and toddlers – here's your chance to win TWENTY-FOUR of them, from Where's Santa Claus? to Where's Mrs Car?

Get your hands on the utterly adorable Diary of an Accidental Witch

This sweet book has us all wanting to enrol in Witch School to learn how to make potions and fly a broomstick! Here's how you can join in the fun by winning your very own copy.

Win a spooktacular Skulduggery Pleasant mega-bundle

One skeleton detective. One fearless twelve year old girl. A race against time to save the world of the living - and the dead. Get your teeth into Skulduggery Pleasant with this incredible 14-book giveaway.

Win a bundle of books about some of the weird and wonderful creatures that have gone extinct

Ever heard of a Dunkleosteus? How about a Lisowicia? This five-book bundle about the fascinating creatures that used to roam the planet explains everything you need to know about these amazing species and their extinction.

There's A Ghost In This House: Can you spot all the ghosts in this sweet picture book?

Oliver Jeffers' lovely interactive tale is perfect for sharing with little ones on Halloween - here's how you can win a copy.

Moose's Book Bus: Win this cute celebration of stories and libraries

We're giving away five copies of this cute woodland story about a clever moose and the power of books.

Win an amazing illustration by Dapo Adeola – and the chance to appear in his new book!

Our Writer-Illustrator in Residence has an amazing competition for children of primary school age: all you need to do is create a fun character and you may just see them popping up in a future book. Dapo Adeola explains more below...

Make It's Mine yours by winning this hilarious Emma Yarlett book

Find out how you could get your hands on this brilliant new read-aloud story from the creator of the Nibbles books.

Meet Christopher Pumpkin - the adorable magical pumpkin who doesn't want to be spooky!

Christopher Pumpkin doesn't want to make spooky slug curry or hang up cobwebs around the castle for Halloween... he wants to make fairy cakes and bunting! Here's how to win this adorable new book from Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet.

Win this award-winning book of poems about migration by Michael Rosen

Michael Rosen has just been awarded the CLiPPA (The Centre for Literacy in Primary Education Poetry Award) for On the Move, his beautiful book of children's poems about displacement and finding home.

Great Britons: Win this fascinating book about the inspiring people who have called Britain their home

Here's how to get your hands on a copy of Imogen Russell Williams' book, Great Britons: 50 Amazing People Who Have Called Britain Home.

Crime, magic and thrills: Win this perfect page-turner for children 9+

Rita Wong and the Jade Mask by Mark Jones is a breakneck detective story set in a landscape studded with danger, the unexpected, lots of chocolate doughnuts, and lashings of humour.

Win a bumper Yuval Zommer bundle to celebrate The Big Book of Belonging

Find out how you could get your hands on Yuval Zommer's brilliant new book about our connection to planet Earth... as well as a host of other fabulous books!

Help little ones understand their big feelings by winning a super set of board books

Find out how you could win a set of the Little Big Feelings board books, full of fun for little ones and helpful advice for parents and carers.

Win a beautiful collection of bedtime stories based on Black history

We're giving away five copies of a stunning new anthology written and illustrated by Black creators.

Wheels: Win a super guessing game book for little vehicle fans

We're giving away five copies of Sally Sutton and Brian Lovelock's fun story about cars, trucks and bikes.

Get ready for Halloween fun with these adorable board books

These little monsters are ready to play! Get your claws on these adorable board books by Flavia Z. Drago in time for Halloween.

Join Jabari by winning two sweet, empowering picture books

We're giving you the chance to win both Jabari Jumps and Jabari Tries - they're adorable stories about a boy overcoming his fears and frustrations.

Here be dragons! Win the epic Dragon Rider series by Cornelia Funke

Join fearless young dragon Firedrake and his human companion Ben in these thrilling fantasy adventures, now a major Sky Cinema adaptation.

Once There Was a Bear: Win the adorable official prequel to Winnie-the-Pooh

Winnie-the-Pooh is celebrating his 95th anniversary this year - and to celebrate, a lovely new collection of prequel stories is being released.

Give your daughter a copy of Grown: The Black Girls’ Guide to Glowing Up - here's how to win one

From the duo behind the Black Girls Book Club comes a life skills book for Black teenage girls: this book covers everything they need to know, from hair and self-care to puberty, friendship, faith and careers.

Win the 50th anniversary edition of Judith Kerr's classic When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit

Find out how you could win a copy of the beautiful hardback anniversary edition of Judith Kerr's classic, semi-autobiographical story.

Get your hands on Nadia Shireen's hilarious new book Grimwood

This brilliant new book is perfect for fans of Alex T Smith and Sophy Henn - and we're giving away five copies.

Peanut Jones and the Illustrated City: Win a copy of Rob Biddulph's fantastic new story

Rob Biddulph's first story for children aged 8+ is a delightful celebration of imagination, colour and creativity - and we're giving away five copies.

Win a signed copy of Gustavo the Shy Ghost: Winner of the 2021 Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration

This winning debut picture book from Mexican artist Flavia Z Drago about finding the courage to make friends is perfect for the spooky season. You won't want to miss out.

BookTrust HomeTime

Looking for something fun as a family? Enjoy storytime with our free online books and videos, play games, win prizes, test your knowledge in our book-themed quizzes, or even learn how to draw some of your favourite characters.

Go to the HomeTime hub

More fun things to do

Quizzes

Try a quiz

Test your knowledge of children's books with our fun quizzes - from Harry Potter to Roald Dahl.

Bookfinder

Find your next book

Use the Bookfinder to find the perfect book for you, your family and friends.

Storybooks and games

Interactive storybooks and games

Listen or read along with loads of stories, or play one of our interactive games.