What to Read After... Artemis Fowl

Published on: 18 November 2019 Author: Anna McKerrow

Eoin Colfer's Artemis Fowl series has been popular with young readers ever since it was launched in 2001 - but if your children have binged the books, what should they try next? We've got some ideas and want your thoughts too...

The front cover of Artemis Fowl

Illustration: Goni Montes

The Artemis Fowl books by Eoin Colfer command millions of diehard fans  - and it's soon going to be even more with the Artemis Fowl movie directed by Kenneth Branagh due in May 2020 and The Fowl Twins, the first book in a new series set in the world of Artemis Fowl, which is out now.

Eoin suggested that fans of his books would love Justin Somper's Vampirates series, Derek Landy's Skullduggery Pleasant books, Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake and all the Discworld books by Terry Pratchett. But what else will fans of the boy criminal mastermind enjoy reading? Here are some of our suggestions...

For kids looking for magical adventure...

The front cover of Aru Shah and the Song of Death

Illustration: Abigail L Dela Cruz

Angie Sage's Septimus Heap series has plenty of instalments to keep an avid reader happy, while Roshani Chokshi's Aru Shah and the Song of Death is an original and gripping read, rich in Indian mythology.

Alternatively, Sarwat Chadda's Ash Mistry series is full of enjoyable peril, demons and battling the forces of evil.

For more graphic novels...

The front cover of Rollergirl of Mars

Illustration: Jessica Abel

The Artemis Fowl series includes several graphic novels, so if that's what got your children hooked, which other books might they enjoy?

There are some fantastic adventures to be had for slightly older readers in Stormbreaker, the Alex Rider graphic novel, and Trish Trash: Rollergirl of Mars, a dystopian sci-fi comic with a black girl engineer-come-Roller Derby legend main character.

Elsewhere, Timeless: Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic by Armand Baltazar features giant robots and hoverboards alongside dinosaurs and steam-powered ships. It's a novel, but features so many full-colour, full-page illustrations that it's a little like reading a graphic novel.

For those who were entranced by the bad fairy theme...

The front cover of The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods

Illustration: Hannah Peck

The demons in Taran Matharu's Summoner series present a delightfully scary read for tweens, while readers after something wintry and mythical with a fairytale element will enjoy Amy Wilson's A Girl Called Owl.

Or for something with a dark undertone, Samuel Halpin's The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods is a creepy delight, deserving to be read under the covers with a torch.

For children who loved  the criminal mastermind theme...

The front cover of Kidglovz

Illustration: Dale Newman

Kidglovz by Julie Hunt and Dale Newman, another graphic novel, features a musical prodigy navigating a world of crime and peril (the protagonist is nine, but this is easily a sophisticated enough read for tweens).

Robert Muchamore's CHERUB series provides a fantastic immersion in the world of crime and professional spying and, of course, Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladylike series suits tweens who will enjoy reading through the series and following heroines Daisy and Hazel as they grow into teenagers.

Join in!

Right, you've heard our thoughts and recommendations - now we'd love to hear your ideas about What to Read After Artemis Fowl! Whether you know something your children or students loved after Eoin Colfer's series or recently read a great story that fits the bill, we'd love to hear your thoughts.

We've already had some great suggestions on Instagram, with @gemlovesbooks1984 agreed with our Skulduggery Pleasant suggestion and also recommended the Lockwood & Co books by Jonathan Stroud.

'Then move on to the YA series, Gone, by Michael Grant,' she added. 'If [people are] reading YA I'd also say Department 19 by Will Hill and The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda.'

Meanwhile, still on Instagram, @rjarvis239 recommended the H.I.V.E. series by Mark Walden. So go on, what would you add?

Get involved on Twitter using the hashtag #WhatToReadAfter and tagging us in @BookTrust, or leave your ideas in the comments box below - and we'll update this page with our favourite suggestions.

Win a copy of The Fowl Twins


Add a comment

Just one book can brighten a child's Christmas

Christmas can be hard for children who are vulnerable or in care, but your book gift can bring them joy

Send a special book gift today