Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction

BookTrust no longer runs the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, and handed over management of the prize to the Society of Authors after the 2016 award. 

Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2016 judges

The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world. Known from 1996 to 2012 as the Orange Prize for Fiction and in 2013 as the Women's Prize for Fiction, it is the UK's most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman and also provides a range of educational, literacy or research initiatives to support reading and writing.

The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction is awarded annually for the best full novel of the year written by a woman and published in the UK. Any woman writing in English - whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter - is eligible.

The winner receives a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze figurine known as a 'Bessie', created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.

Former winners

The list of former Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction winners is as follows:

  • 2016: The Glorious Heresies - Lisa McInerney
  • 2015: How To be Both - Ali Smith
  • 2014: A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing - Eimear McBride
  • 2013: May We Be Forgiven - A. M. Homes
  • 2012: The Song of Achilles - Madeline Miller
  • 2011: The Tiger's Wife - Téa Obreht
  • 2010: The Lacuna - Barbara Kingsolver
  • 2009: Home - Marilynne Robinson
  • 2008: The Road Home - Rose Tremain
  • 2007: Half of a Yellow Sun - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • 2006: On Beauty - Zadie Smith
  • 2005: We Need to Talk About Kevin - Lionel Shriver
  • 2004: Small Island - Andrea Levy
  • 2003: Property - Valerie Martin
  • 2002: Bel Canto - Ann Patchett
  • 2001: The Idea of Perfection - Kate Grenville
  • 2000: When I Lived in Modern Times - Linda Grant
  • 1999: A Crime in the Neighbourhood - Suzanne Berne
  • 1998: Larry's Party - Carol Shields
  • 1997: Fugitive Pieces - Anne Michaels
  • 1996: A Spell of Winter - Helen Dunmore

Find out about BookTrust prizes

Blue Peter Book Awards 2018

Keep up to date

Children across the country will again be picking their Best Story and Best Book with Facts in these prestigious awards.

BookTrust Lifetime Achievement Award 2017

Raymond Briggs

Find out all about the latest winner of the BookTrust Lifetime Achievement Award, Raymond Briggs.

In Other Words 2018

Celebrating children's books in translation

In Other Words seeks to promote the translation and UK publication of brilliant children's fiction from around the world.