Prizes Archive

BookTrust has been involved with a number of prizes over the years.

From celebrating short story writers to promoting new illustrators and honouring the best funny books for young people, the prizes we previously managed covered a wide range of talents and genres. Find out more about the awards we used to be involved with below.

In this section

Bailey's Women's Prize for Fiction

The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world.

BBC National Short Story Award

The BBC National Short Story Award is one of the most prestigious for a single short story, with the winning author receiving £15,000.

BBC Young Writers Award

The BBC Young Writers Award launched in 2014 as part of the 10th anniversary celebrations of the BBC National Short Story Award with BookTrust.

Blue Peter Book Awards

The Blue Peter Book Awards celebrated the best authors, most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children.

BookTrust Best Book Awards

The Book Trust Best Book Awards with Amazon Kindle, which took place in 2014, sought to unearth the very best children’s books the UK has to offer.

BookTrust Best New Illustrators Award

The Booktrust Best New Illustrators Award, held in 2008 and 2011, celebrated the best rising talent in the field of children’s illustration.

In Other Words

In Other Words is a prize to promote the translation and UK publication of outstanding children's literature from around the world.

Roald Dahl Funny Prize

The Roald Dahl Funny Prize ran from 2008 to 2013 and aimed to promote laughter and humour as a feel-good factor when reading.

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award is open to any novelist or short story writer from around the world who is published in the UK.

Other archived prizes

BookTrust has been involved with a number of prizes over the years, including the David Cohen Prize, the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, Kim Scott Walwyn Prize, the BookTrust Early Years Awards, the BookTrust Teenage Prize, the Nestlé Children's Book Prize, New Writing Ventures, the Orange Prize for Fiction, the Orange Award for New Writers, the Power of Reading Award and the YoungMinds Award.

For information about any of these prizes, please email [email protected].