Print page

TV shows based on children's books

The Queen's Nose

Check out our favourite kid's TV shows based on children's books.

Some are classics, some are new, while others you may be suprised to find out were books first!

  • Anne of Green Gables

    Author: L M Montgomery
    Publisher: Puffin

    Anne Shirley is one of literature's finest heroines, and this first book of her adventures is the perfect book about growing up, friendship and family.

  • Winnie-the-Pooh

    Author: A A Milne Illustrator: E H Shepherd
    Publisher: Egmont Books

    No child's library could be complete without A A Milne's stories about Pooh, Christopher Robin and their friends in the Hundred Acre Wood.

  • The Tale of Peter Rabbit

    Author: Beatrix Potter
    Publisher: Warne

    Beatrix Potter's iconic tale of the naughty rabbit has been a favourite with children and parents ever since it was published in 1902 - it has a timeless charm.

  • The Little Prince

    Author: Antoine de Saint-Exupery Translator: Katherine Woods
    Publisher: Egmont

    An air pilot makes a forced landing deep in the Sahara Desert. There, he makes a mysterious Little Prince, who tells him a series of wise and enchanting stories.

  • Kipper's Balloon

    Author: Mick Inkpen
    Publisher: Hachette

    The latest in a range of good books about the popular Kipper and his friends, this is a stunning pop-up and lift-the-flap book with sounds, which tells of a great adventure and a fantastic balloon ride.

  • Horrid Henry

    Author: Francesca Simon Illustrator: Tony Ross
    Publisher: Orion Children's Books

    Stories about naughty characters have been told for centuries, and Horrid Henry is a modern-day rogue in the tradition of Dennis the Menace and Just William.

  • The Worst Witch

    Author: Jill Murphy
    Publisher: Puffin

    Long before Harry Potter first went to Hogwarts, trainee witch Mildred Hubble embarked on life at Miss Cackle's Academy for Witches...

  • Stig of the Dump

    Author: Clive King
    Publisher: Puffin

    Exploring an old chalk pit, Barney meets a strange boy who wears a rabbit skin and speaks in grunts.

  • Finn Family Moomintroll

    Author: Tove Jansson Translator: Elizabeth Portch
    Publisher: Puffin Books

    Moomintroll is cheerful and chubby and lives in the magical Moominvalley with his mother, Moominmamma, his father, Moominpappa and all of their friends.

  • Five on a Treasure Island

    Author: Enid Blyton
    Publisher: Hodder Children's Books

    Meet Enid Blyton's most famous characters - Julian, Dick, Anne, George and of course the ever-loyal Timmy the dog - for the first time in this, the first book in the classic Famous Five series.

  • Goggle-Eyes

    Author: Anne Fine
    Publisher: Penguin

    Kitty is not only a great storyteller, she is also the world's leading expert in mothers with unwanted boyfriends.

  • The Queen's Nose

    Author: Dick KingSmith
    Publisher: Puffin

    Harmony's Uncle Ginger sends her on a treasure trail - which ends in finding a 50p piece.

  • Feather Boy

    Author: Nicky Singer
    Publisher: HarperCollins

    Robert is having a tough time at school, being bullied by Nicker; he's also trying to deal with the break-up of his parents' marriage.

  • The Story of Tracy Beaker

    Author: Jacqueline Wilson Illustrator: Nick Sharratt
    Publisher: Random House

    Tracy lives in a children's home but constantly hopes that her absent, glamorous Mum will come and take her away.

  • The Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning

    Author: Lemony Snicket Illustrator: Brett Helquist
    Publisher: Egmont Books

    The Bad Beginning is the first of 13 volumes in the appropriately named collection, A Series of Unfortunate Events.