Print page

Spooky teen reads for autumn and winter nights

The Wrong Train

Now the nights are dark and long, there's a definite chill in the air. But is that shiver down your spine caused by the cold weather or something else?

If you like to spook yourself silly, prepare to be scared with these enjoyably eerie books about ghosts, gods, nightmares and monsters. Don't say we didn't warn you...

  • Book of Lies

    Terri Terry
    Orchard

    Piper and Quinn find out they're identical twins when their mother dies. Written with alternating viewpoint chapters between the twins, there is a genuinely spooky feel to this excellent psychological and supernatural thriller.

  • The Hawkweed Prophecy

    Irena Brignull
    Orchard Books

    Strong characters, complex relationships, and important themes of family, belonging, identity, love and loneliness, drive this absorbing story of magic and painful family secrets.

  • And I Darken

    Kiersten White
    Corgi

    And I Darken is a fictional retelling of the rise of Vlad the Impaler - except, in White's thrilling take on it, Vlad isn't Vlad but Lady Lada. The political intrigue and character relationships are wonderfully done, and Lada is an anti-heroine to root for.

  • Three Dark Crowns

    Kendare Blake
    Macmillan

    Three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and possessor of a coveted magic - and when they are 16, they must battle to the death to become Queen of the island. This story is feminist, fierce and unforgettable - perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

  • Barefoot on the Wind

    Zoe Marriott
    Walker Books

    This stylish reworking of Beauty and the Beast unfolds in mythical Japan. Beautiful visual imagery, viscerally brutal action and desperate passions make this retelling feel fresh.

  • The Wrong Train

    Jeremy de Quidt
    David Fickling Books

    Getting on the wrong train is usually just a minor inconvenience but, as this masterful piece of horror writing confirms, it can sometimes become one of your worst nightmares. Utterly chilling and haunting.

  • The Otherlife

    Julia Gray
    Andersen Press

    An intelligent and insightful read, this YA novel manages to merge Norse myth, competitive parenting, bullying, class issues and exam pressures into a taut and chilling thriller. Perfect for fans of Sarah Govett and Neil Gaiman.

  • Haunt Me

    Liz Kessler
    Orion

    Introverted Erin has just moved to a new house and school - and finds her new bedroom is haunted by teenager Joe. With a mature and sensitive approach to bereavement, loss and teen relationships, this proves a thought-provoking read.

  • The Creeper Man

    Dawn Kurtagich
    Orion

    Kurtagich has created an incredibly assured, claustrophobic horror with a fractured and troubled teen narrator that will have you gripped to the very last page.

  • The Graces

    Laure Eve
    Faber and Faber

    Like everyone else in town, River is obsessed with the Graces: attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? A beautifully written, deliciously dark YA fantasy with a fresh take on witches.