Print page

Books to share with older children

The Emergency Zoo

Reading together doesn’t have to stop once your children can read for themselves – it’s still fun to read aloud to older children!

Here are a selection of great stories to share with 8-12s that you’re going to love, too...

Time to Read

  • How to Train Your Dragon

    Cressida Cowell
    Hachette

    Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III was an incredible sword-fighter, dragon-whisperer and the greatest Viking hero who ever lived.

  • The Girl of Ink and Stars

    Kiran Millwood Hargrave
    Chicken House

    When her closest friend disappears into the island's Forgotten Territories, Isabella Riosse volunteers to guide the search. A stunning debut, full of myth, magic and mapmaking.

  • Dark Lord: The Teenage Years

    Jamie Thomson Illustrated by Freya Hartas
    Orchard Books

    The Dark Lord falls to earth, crash-landing in a suburban car park in the body of a teenage boy, spitting out poisonous mucus

  • Demolition Dad

    Phil Earle, Illustrated by Sara Ogilvie
    Orion Children’s Books

    Demolition Dad is sure to delight children, and adults, of all ages and is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

  • The Wolf Wilder

    Katherine Rundell
    Bloomsbury

    When the murderous hostility of the Russian Army threatens her very existence, Feo is left with no option but to go on the run. What follows is a story of revolution and adventure, about standing up for the things you love and fighting back. And, of course, wolves.

  • The Parent Agency

    David Baddiel
    HarperCollins

    Barry Bennett has a long list of things he dislikes about his parents, but what if the tables were turned and children could choose their parents? What would Barry do?

  • Danger is Still Everywhere - Beware of the Dog

    David O'Doherty, Illustrated by Chris Judge
    Puffin

    Docter Noel Zone is a Dangerologist, and he's here to tell you all about the dangers that exist in everyday life and how to avoid them - or, at least, recognise them, bubble wrap them and possibly most importantly of all, SAFBTB (Stay Away From Bins That Burp).

  • Sweet Pizza

    G R Gemin
    Nosy Crow

    In a small Welsh town, a young man gets to reconnect to his Italian roots and explore his entrepreneurial streak, as he exchanges the joys of fried chicken and chips for fresh espresso and pasta puttanesca.

  • The Emergency Zoo

    Miriam Halahmy
    Alma Books

    An unusual and atmospheric story set in the run-up to World War II. As London's children prepare for evacuation to the countryside, they are horrified to discover that their beloved pets are due to be put down.

  • Malkin Moonlight

    Emma Cox
    Bloomsbury

    Malkin Moonlight is given his wonderful name by the Moon, who also tells the tiny black kitten that he is destined for great things. This charming, magical story is beautifully written and reads like a classic.