Demolition Dad

(2 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

Demolition Dad is a story about Jake Biggs and his father George, a big man with a bigger heart. By day, George knocks down buildings. But on the weekends, George suits up into his spandex and is a wrestling champion on the local circuit, with Jake by his side as his number one fan. Jake is bursting with pride for George, and wants to tell the whole world how great he is, but his dad wants to keep his wrestling a secret. Then Jake secretly enters his dad into a wrestling competition in the USA but things don’t exactly go as planned…

Demolition Dad is funny, exciting, full of heart, and gives you a hero to cheer for. The core of this story is about family and friendship, and there is an authenticity to the characters that will resonate with children and adults alike. Known for his more gritty YA novels, Demolition Dad is a departure for Phil Earle, but he is a natural at capturing the middle-grade voice and the book is full of witty and wonderful lines like ‘'Green beans limper than a one-legged pirate without a crutch'. Demolition Dad is sure to delight children, and adults, of all ages and is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

More books like this

Aftershock

Author: Bernard Ashley

After a major earthquake in 1951 devastates their lives, Makis and his mother are re-homed in North London, but they face antagonism from both the British and Greek communities.

Read more about Aftershock

Becoming Jo

Author: Sophie McKenzie

Jo has always wanted to be a writer - but with three sisters, a new friend who's just moved in to her street, and a father working as a humanist minister in Syria, there's a lot going on. A clever retelling of Little Women which transports the March sisters to the modern day.

Read more about Becoming Jo

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...