Demolition Dad

(2 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

Review

Demolition Dad is a story about Jake Biggs and his father George, a big man with a bigger heart. By day, George knocks down buildings. But on the weekends, George suits up into his spandex and is a wrestling champion on the local circuit, with Jake by his side as his number one fan. Jake is bursting with pride for George, and wants to tell the whole world how great he is, but his dad wants to keep his wrestling a secret. Then Jake secretly enters his dad into a wrestling competition in the USA but things don’t exactly go as planned…

Demolition Dad is funny, exciting, full of heart, and gives you a hero to cheer for. The core of this story is about family and friendship, and there is an authenticity to the characters that will resonate with children and adults alike. Known for his more gritty YA novels, Demolition Dad is a departure for Phil Earle, but he is a natural at capturing the middle-grade voice and the book is full of witty and wonderful lines like ‘'Green beans limper than a one-legged pirate without a crutch'. Demolition Dad is sure to delight children, and adults, of all ages and is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Girl Who Thought Her Mother Was a Mermaid

Author: Tania Unsworth Illustrator: Helen Crawford-White

Stella sets out to discover if her mother really was a mermaid. A beautifully written story with some tense, nailbiting moments and giddy splashes of magical realism. 

Read more about The Girl Who Thought Her Mother Was a Mermaid

The Fox Girl and the White Gazelle

Author: Victoria Williamson

Told in dual narrative, this story follows Reema and Caylin as they negotiate a shaky friendship: one, an asylum seeker from Syria, and the other, a girl whose mum is struggling to cope. A truly excellent and ultimately uplifting book with plenty of heart.

Read more about The Fox Girl and the White Gazelle