Print page

Super books for Superhero Day (9-12)

Wonder Boy

15 May is Superhero Day! Dust off your cape and wear your underpants on the outside of your trousers in celebration of the day dedicated to heroes - in whatever form.

To mark the day, we've assembled a team of super books to make a super booklist for readers aged 9-12. These books feature a range of heroes - from real life people to comic book greats!

See our list for 5-8

See our list for teens

  • Omega the Unknown

    Author: Jonathan Lethem Karl Rusnack Farel Dalrymple Paul Hornschemeier

    Flip
  • Omega the Unknown

    Author: Jonathan Lethem Karl Rusnack Farel Dalrymple Paul Hornschemeier

    The story of a mute, reluctant super hero from another planet, and the earthly teenager with whom he shares a strange destiny.

    ; Flip
  • Arctic Hero

    Author: Catherine Johnson

    Flip
  • Arctic Hero

    Author: Catherine Johnson

    American explorer Matthew Henson was one of the first men to reach the North Pole in 1909. But his place in history wasn’t f…

    ; Flip
  • El Deafo

    Author: Cece Bell

    Flip
  • El Deafo

    Author: Cece Bell

    Delivered in graphic-novel format, this story is based on the childhood of US author/illustrator Cece Bell who was diagnosed as de…

    ; Flip
  • Demolition Dad

    Author: Phil Earle Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie

    Flip
  • Demolition Dad

    Author: Phil Earle Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie

    Demolition Dad is sure to delight children, and adults, of all ages and is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

    ; Flip
  • Kenny Wright: Superhero

    Author: James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts Illustrator: Cory Thomas

    Flip
  • Kenny Wright: Superhero

    Author: James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts Illustrator: Cory Thomas

    This entertaining book tackles the serious issues of bullying, poverty and difficult family circumstances with a light-hearted tou…

    ; Flip
  • Electrigirl

    Author: Jo Cotterill Illustrator: Cathy Brett

    Flip
  • Electrigirl

    Author: Jo Cotterill Illustrator: Cathy Brett

    An exciting graphic fantasy novel about a girl who develops amazing superpowers - but who values her family and friends even more.…

    ; Flip
  • Wonder Boy

    Author: Nicole Burstein

    Flip
  • Wonder Boy

    Author: Nicole Burstein

    Joseph 'Wilco' Wilkes is the biggest loser at the posh private school he attends on a scholarship. However, his life is about to g…

    ; Flip