Print page

Super books for Superhero Day (9-12)

Boffin Boy and the Temple of Mars

15 May is Superhero Day! Dust off your cape and wear your underpants on the outside of your trousers in celebration of the day dedicated to heroes - in whatever form.

To mark the day, we've assembled a team of super books to make a super booklist for readers aged 9-12. These books feature a range of heroes - from real life people to comic book greats!

See our list for 5-8

See our list for teens

  • Omega the Unknown

    Author: Jonathan Lethem & Karl Rusnack Illustrator: Farel Dalrymple & Paul Hornschemeier

    Interest level: 10+

    Reading age: 9+

    Flip
  • Omega the Unknown

    Author: Jonathan Lethem & Karl Rusnack Illustrator: Farel Dalrymple & Paul Hornschemeier

    Interest level: 10+

    Reading age: 9+

    The story of a mute, reluctant super hero from another planet, and the earthly teenager with whom he shares a strange destiny.

    ; Flip
  • Arctic Hero

    Author: Catherine Johnson

    Flip
  • Arctic Hero

    Author: Catherine Johnson

    Interest level:

    Reading age:

    American explorer Matthew Henson was one of the first men to reach the North Pole in 1909. But his place in history wasn’t f…

    ; Flip
  • El Deafo

    Author: Cece Bell

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 8+

    Flip
  • El Deafo

    Author: Cece Bell

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 8+

    Delivered in graphic-novel format, this story is based on the childhood of US author/illustrator Cece Bell who was diagnosed as de…

    ; Flip
  • Demolition Dad

    Author: Phil Earle Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 9+

    Flip
  • Demolition Dad

    Author: Phil Earle Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 9+

    Demolition Dad is sure to delight children, and adults, of all ages and is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

    ; Flip
  • Kenny Wright: Superhero

    Author: James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts Illustrator: Cory Thomas

    Interest level: 9-12

    Reading age: 9

    Flip
  • Kenny Wright: Superhero

    Author: James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts Illustrator: Cory Thomas

    Interest level: 9-12

    Reading age: 9

    This entertaining book tackles the serious issues of bullying, poverty and difficult family circumstances with a light-hearted tou…

    ; Flip
  • Electrigirl

    Author: Jo Cotterill Illustrator: Cathy Brett

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 8+

    Flip
  • Electrigirl

    Author: Jo Cotterill Illustrator: Cathy Brett

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 8+

    An exciting graphic fantasy novel about a girl who develops amazing superpowers - but who values her family and friends even more.…

    ; Flip
  • Mega Robo Bros

    Author: Neill Cameron

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 9+

    Flip
  • Mega Robo Bros

    Author: Neill Cameron

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 9+

    Brothers always find something to fight about. Alex and Freddy are no different - even though they're also the most powerful robot…

    ; Flip
  • Magic Ink

    Author: Steve Cole

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 8+

    Flip
  • Magic Ink

    Author: Steve Cole

    Interest level: 8+

    Reading age: 8+

    Comic strips come magically to life in this engaging illustrated novel about 12-year-old comic fan Stew.

    ; Flip
  • Wonder Boy

    Author: Nicole Burstein

    Interest level: 10+

    Reading age: 10+

    Flip
  • Wonder Boy

    Author: Nicole Burstein

    Interest level: 10+

    Reading age: 10+

    Joseph 'Wilco' Wilkes is the biggest loser at the posh private school he attends on a scholarship. However, his life is about to g…

    ; Flip