Print page

Super books for Superhero Day (9-12)

Boffin Boy and the Temple of Mars

15 May is Superhero Day! Dust off your cape and wear your underpants on the outside of your trousers in celebration of the day dedicated to heroes - in whatever form.

To mark the day, we've assembled a team of super books to make a super booklist for readers aged 9-12. These books feature a range of heroes - from real life people to comic book greats!

See our list for 5-8

See our list for teens

  • Omega the Unknown

    Author: Jonathan Lethem Karl Rusnack Farel Dalrymple Paul Hornschemeier

    Flip
  • Omega the Unknown

    Author: Jonathan Lethem Karl Rusnack Farel Dalrymple Paul Hornschemeier

    The story of a mute, reluctant super hero from another planet, and the earthly teenager with whom he shares a strange destiny.

    ; Flip
  • Arctic Hero

    Author: Catherine Johnson

    Flip
  • Arctic Hero

    Author: Catherine Johnson

    American explorer Matthew Henson was one of the first men to reach the North Pole in 1909. But his place in history wasn’t f…

    ; Flip
  • El Deafo

    Author: Cece Bell

    Flip
  • El Deafo

    Author: Cece Bell

    Delivered in graphic-novel format, this story is based on the childhood of US author/illustrator Cece Bell who was diagnosed as de…

    ; Flip
  • Demolition Dad

    Author: Phil Earle Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie

    Flip
  • Demolition Dad

    Author: Phil Earle Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie

    Demolition Dad is sure to delight children, and adults, of all ages and is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

    ; Flip
  • Kenny Wright: Superhero

    Author: James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts Illustrator: Cory Thomas

    Flip
  • Kenny Wright: Superhero

    Author: James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts Illustrator: Cory Thomas

    This entertaining book tackles the serious issues of bullying, poverty and difficult family circumstances with a light-hearted tou…

    ; Flip
  • Electrigirl

    Author: Jo Cotterill Illustrator: Cathy Brett

    Flip
  • Electrigirl

    Author: Jo Cotterill Illustrator: Cathy Brett

    An exciting graphic fantasy novel about a girl who develops amazing superpowers - but who values her family and friends even more.…

    ; Flip
  • Wonder Boy

    Author: Nicole Burstein

    Flip
  • Wonder Boy

    Author: Nicole Burstein

    Joseph 'Wilco' Wilkes is the biggest loser at the posh private school he attends on a scholarship. However, his life is about to g…

    ; Flip