Beetle Boy

Publisher: Chicken House

Review

When Darkus' father, Dr Bartholomew Cuttle, mysteriously disappears from London’s Natural History Museum, Darkus has to move in with his rather odd Uncle Max AND change schools.

His new next-door neighbours, the peculiar cousins Humphrey and Pickering, are so messy that they have a beetle infestation in their attic, which is growing in a mound of mouldy teacups.

One particularly spectacular (and intelligent) rhinoceros beetle befriends Darkus, and helps him on his quest to save his father from the evil Lucretia Cutter: a mad scientist with terrifying plans!

Beetle Boy will make you look at beetles in a new light. It’s a wonderfully funny and engaging book, which is full of action, adventure and delightful illustrations. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Winner of the Branford Boase Award 2017.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Millions

Author: Frank Cottrell Boyce

One night, a bag containing £229,370 falls from the sky and flattens the hermitage. Damian is convinced it is a gift from God.

Read more about Millions

James and the Giant Peach

Author: Roald Dahl Illustrator: Quentin Blake

Through a series of peculiar and magical happenings, James finds himself on an adventure inside a giant peach with a bunch of friendly giant insects for travelling companions.

Read more about James and the Giant Peach