A Room Full of Chocolate

(2 reviews with an average rating of 4 out of 5)

Publisher: Hodder's Children's Books

On Grace's 10th birthday her mum finds a lump under her arm and her Dad leaves forever. Diving head first into looking after her Mum should keep her busy enough to keep her mind off Dad, and her dissolving friendships at school, but when it's announced she'll be going to live with estranged Granddad on a farm in Yorkshire, it seems things can't get any worse.

At the farm, Grace still won't let herself believe the terrifying truth behind her Mum's visits to hospital. Her Granddad is distant and there is trouble at her new school from day one, but there is a cottage on the farm with a girl in rainbow clothes and a little pig called Claude who become Grace's friends.

Grace and Megan's friendship is fast and fierce, which seems a little peculiar until it is revealed it was their destiny to continue their mothers' bond. Their unwavering belief in each other gets them into (and out of!) some sticky situations, but when Grace finally faces up to the truth about her Mum's situation it becomes clear she could not have managed without her new found farmyard family. The real-life drama will appeal to fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Elen Caldecott, and whilst the idea of living on a farm doesn't initially impress Grace - it sounds like a lot of fun to the reader. A sweet story with sadness and smiles and a smidge of silly slapstick.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Great Ice Cream Heist

Author: Elen Caldecott

Shy Eva lives a quiet life with her protective Dad - until the noisy McIntyre family move in next door.

Read more about The Great Ice Cream Heist

The Secret Hen House Theatre

Author: Helen Peters

Helen Peters has drawn on her own childhood on a farm, and her memories of writing and acting out her own plays, to create this lively story with a very convincing rural setting.

Read more about The Secret Hen House Theatre