12 great books for 11-year-olds

The Wolf Wilder

12 great contemporary books for 11 year olds.

  • High-Rise Mystery

    Author: Sharna Jackson
    Publisher: Knights Of
    Interest age: 9-11
    Reading age: 9+

    High-Rise Mystery is the perfect ‘whodunnit’. As the two girls sift through red herrings and reveal a series of tower block secrets, short snappy sentences and sparkling dialogue will keep readers turning the pages. A mystery as hot as the summer heatwave in which it’s set!

  • The Crossover

    Author: Kwame Alexander
    Publisher: Andersen Press
    Interest age: 10-14
    Reading age: 9+

    Dynamically-illustrated graphic novel version of a bestselling, award-winning story of twin basketball players and their coming-of-age. 

  • Roller Girl

    Author: Victoria Jamieson
    Publisher: Puffin
    Interest age: 10-14
    Reading age: 9+

    It’s really exciting to be starting at Roller Derby summer camp, but less so when Astrid finds herself doing it alone. A fantastic full-colour graphic novel about friendship and awesome, strong girls, this a genuine joy to read. 

  • The Wolf Wilder

    Author: Katherine Rundell
    Publisher: Bloomsbury

    When the murderous hostility of the Russian Army threatens her very existence, Feo is left with no option but to go on the run. What follows is a story of revolution and adventure, about standing up for the things you love and fighting back. And, of course, wolves.

  • Drone Racer

    Author: Andy Briggs
    Publisher: Scholastic
    Interest age: 9-12
    Reading age: 9+

    Carson and his friends are into drone racing but the older kids always outclass them with more expensive tech. When they come across a faster drone, they think they're in luck – but then they discover the military want it back. Brilliantly filmic and unputdownable.

  • S.C.R.E.A.M: Carnival of Monsters

    Author: Andrew Beasley
    Publisher: Usborne
    Interest age: 10-12
    Reading age: 10-12

    Spooky supernatural activity is mixed here with plenty of humour to create the right balance of action, fun and thrills. Sharp-witted Charley makes a spectacular wheelchair-using protagonist, alongside streetwise partner Billy.

  • The Nowhere Emporium

    Author: Ross Mackenzie
    Publisher: Floris Books
    Interest age: 8+
    Reading age: 7+

    Daniel's life changes forever when he stumbles upon The Nowhere Emporium in Glasgow. A dazzling and quirky tale, full of imagination and wonder - perfect for fans of JK Rowling, Philip Pullman and Neil Gaiman.

  • Phoenix

    Author: S F Said Illustrator: Dave McKean
    Publisher: Corgi
    Interest age: 10+
    Reading age: 10+

    Lucky is on the run and joins up with a group of aliens - refugees from the ongoing war between aliens and humans - who agree to help Lucky find his father. A thrilling space adventure, full of suspense, action, emotion and more.

  • Wonder

    Author: R J Palacio
    Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's
    Interest age: 9+
    Reading age: 9+

    August ('Auggie') Pullman can't help but stand out - he was born with a severe facial deformity. Written in the first person, Wonder follows Auggie as he experiences more than the usual ups-and-downs of friendships, family and school.

  • An Eagle in the Snow

    Author: Michael Morpurgo Illustrator: Michael Foreman
    Publisher: HarperCollins
    Interest age: 9+
    Reading age: 9+

    Stuck on a train, a boy listens to a stranger’s story about one moment that could have stopped World War II. A thought-provoking story that young history enthusiasts will especially welcome.

  • Ghost

    Author: Jason Reynolds Illustrator: Selom Sunu
    Publisher: Knights Of
    Interest age: 12-16
    Reading age: 12+

    Three years ago Ghost’s dad chased him and his mum down the road with a gun. His dad got ten years in prison, and Ghost learned how to run. Ghost has never thought of athletics as a sporting option – basketball is his thing. But now, after challenging a sprinter to a race at the local track, he’s won himself a place on an elite running team.

  • Where the River Runs Gold

    Author: Sita Brahmachari
    Publisher: Hachette
    Interest age: 10-13
    Reading age: 9+

    Shifa and her brother Themba live in a world destroyed by climate change, but when they're sent away to work, they're horrified to discover a cruel and corrupt system. Will they be able to escape and make the world a better place?