Ruby Redfort: Feel the Fear

(2 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books

Ruby Redfort has a lot of reasons to feel confident. Undercover agent, code cracker, 13-year-old genius – she’s one fearless kid, buster. Unmasking an evil villain? Done. Honing her parkour skills by climbing skyscrapers and leaping across roofs? All in a day’s work. Heeding the warning signs? Well, not so much.

When an apparently invisible foe begins stealing from the highest buildings in Twinford, Ruby Redfort is ready to defy death one more time to capture the bandit. But fearlessness can lead to taking risks, which can land a person in very serious trouble. While Ruby may think she’s invincible, there’s truth to the saying that recklessness always comes before a fall.
The fourth in the Ruby Redfort series is just as full of high jinks as the rest, and has a welcome focus on Ruby’s physical adventuring as well as her intelligence. As ever, the end pages feature additional puzzle/activity content included in the story. This time, it’s braille and “traille”, a ternary (as opposed to binary) touch-code. There’s also some information about parkour, which is featured in the story – although parents might be keen to point out the safety implications that are touched on.

More books like this

Ruby Redfort: Catch Your Death

Author: Lauren Child

The third in the Ruby Redfort series, Catch Your Death is another great instalment of the popular crime mystery series which, as with all the books, features extra code and science-related content at the end.

Read more about Ruby Redfort: Catch Your Death

Ruby Redfort: Look Into My Eyes

Author: Lauren Child

Blessed with an extraordinary talent for spotting things which others seldom notice, 13-year-old Ruby lands an undercover job as a code-breaker for secret-spy organisation, Spectrum.

Read more about Ruby Redfort: Look Into My Eyes

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...