Ruby Redfort: Catch Your Death

(3 reviews with an average rating of 3 out of 5)

Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books

Ruby Redfort, Spectrum’s youngest secret agent,  is doing some wilderness survival training, but she isn’t overly sure that she’s doing that well with it. Meanwhile, in her home town of Twinford, rare animals are on the loose, expensive jewellery is disappearing, and though she knows there is something sinister about a new perfume introduced at a local shop, Ruby can't quite put her finger on it.
The third in the Ruby Redfort series, Catch Your Death has a strong STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) theme that parents and teachers may find useful as a way to enthuse girls in particular. Aside from that, it’s another great instalment of the popular crime mystery series which, as with all the books, features extra code and science-related content at the end. This time, there’s some information about how smell works, as well as some real-life background regarding Marie Antoinette’s lost perfume.

More books like this

Ruby Redfort: Feel the Fear

Author: Lauren Child

The fourth in the Ruby Redfort series is just as full of high jinks as the rest, and has a welcome focus on Ruby’s physical adventuring as well as her intelligence. As ever, the end pages feature additional puzzle/activity content.

Read more about Ruby Redfort: Feel the Fear

Ruby Redfort: Look Into My Eyes

Author: Lauren Child

Blessed with an extraordinary talent for spotting things which others seldom notice, 13-year-old Ruby lands an undercover job as a code-breaker for secret-spy organisation, Spectrum.

Read more about Ruby Redfort: Look Into My Eyes

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...