Dave Pigeon (Racer!)

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Faber & Faber

Review

Dave Pigeon needs his wing fixed, so it’s off to Pawsville Pets for him and Skipper, who’s just going to keep him company (and type up their adventure, as usual). The two pigeons aren’t quite sure what to make of the vet's, but Jet the dog, Gary the hamster and the gang soon make them feel at home while Dave gets his new prosthetic wing fitted.

However, Opprobrious Vastanavius, a rather unpleasant pigeon, challenges Dave to a flying contest, and Dave can’t say no. But flying with his new wing isn’t going to be easy – even with help from Dave’s dad, famous racing pigeon Mickey Lightning. And what is it that Mickey isn’t telling Dave?

The third book in the brilliantly funny Dave Pigeon series continues its light-hearted focus on friendship and the trials and tribulations younger children can face. In this instalment, Dave and Skipper have to face a too-cool-for-school gang of other animals at Dazzle, a far fancier vet’s down the road, and Dave realises that perhaps his dad is just human – or, pigeon – like everyone else. The humour is silly and full of punny jokes, and the final message about believing in yourself is perfect for younger children.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Demolition Dad

Author: Phil Earle Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie

Demolition Dad is sure to delight children, and adults, of all ages and is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

Read more about Demolition Dad

Dino FC: The Great Kit Catastrophe

Author: Keith Brumpton

Days are dark for Dino FC. Their team shirts are shabby and ripped, the elastic on their shorts is sagging – and their footballing fortunes are equally woeful.

Read more about Dino FC: The Great Kit Catastrophe