Blue Peter Book Awards archive

For 22 years, the enormously popular and influential Blue Peter Book Awards have been recognised and celebrated the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children until its closure in 2022.

In this section, you can take a trip back in time to find out all about previous winners of the Blue Peter Book Awards, including Michael Morpurgo, Katherine Rundell, Oliver Jeffers and Liz Pichon.

If you're looking for something to read, these books come highly recommended by the children that voted for them over the years - so this is a great place to start.

For more information, you can also follow @BookTrust on Twitter and visit the official Blue Peter website.

In this section

Blue Peter Book Awards 2022

A moving arctic adventure and some seriously cool facts about animal inventors topped the list for the final year of the book awards.

Blue Peter Book Awards 2021

A debut novel that busts the stereotypes around autism and a quirky fact book with laugh-out-loud cartoons won over hundreds of children in 2021, as A Kind of Spark and A Day in the Life of a Poo, a Gnu, and You took the top prizes.

Blue Peter Book Awards 2020

Real life tales of extraordinary children and a fantastical world of captivating inventiveness took the top spots in 2020, with Rise Up and Wildspark voted for by over 500 children.

Blue Peter Book Awards 2019

The vibrant history of colour and the loving tale of a refugee boy's new life in London took the top spots in 2019, with The Colours of History and The Boy at the Back of the Class voted for by over 500 children.

Blue Peter Book Awards 2018

Tales of unexplained phenomenon and magical witches and warriors took the top spots in 2018, with Real-Life Mysteries and The Wizards of Once voted for by over 500 children.

Blue Peter Book Awards 2017

Two Faber titles won the awards for best books in 2017 – Podkin One Ear and Survivors – and they both tell stories of epic struggle and strength.

Previous years

Previous winners of the Blue Peter Book Awards are:

  • 2013
    • Best Story: Tom Gates - Genius Ideas (Mostly) by Liz Pichon (Scholastic)
    • Best Book with Facts: Horrible Science: House of Horrors by Nick Arnold and Tony De Saulles (Scholastic)
  • 2012: The Considine Curse by Gareth P Jones (Bloomsbury)
  • 2011: Dead Man's Cove by Lauren St John (Orion Children's Books)
  • 2010: Frozen in Time by Ali Sparkes (Oxford University Press)
  • 2009: Shadow Forest by Matt Haig (Corgi Children's)
  • 2008: Prize didn't run
  • 2007: The Outlaw Varjak Paw by S. F. Said, illustrated by Dave McKean (David Fickling Books)
  • 2006: Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers (HarperCollins)
  • 2005: Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo (Collins)
  • 2004: Man on the Moon by Simon Bartram (Templar)
  • 2003: Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve (Scholastic)
  • 2002: Feather Boy by Nicky Singer (Collins)
  • 2001: The Wind Singer by William Nicholson (Egmont)
  • 2000: A Pilgrim's Progress retold by Geraldine McCaughrean, illustrated by Jason Cockcroft (Hodder)

You might also like...

BookTrust Storytime Prize

This prize celebrates and promotes the best books for sharing with young children. We are looking for books which have wide appeal to parents and carers across our diverse nation, and for stories which can be read and enjoyed over and over again.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The BookTrust Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a children's writer or illustrator whose body of work merits recognition for a lifetime's achievement in children's literature.

Children's Laureate

Poet and author Joseph Coelho is the Waterstones Children's Laureate for 2022-24: a role that is normally awarded once every two years to an eminent writer or illustrator of children's books to celebrate their outstanding achievement.

BookTrust Awards and Prizes

From our Lifetime Achievement Award, to honouring the books young people love, to finding the best international children's fiction, our prizes and awards celebrate writing from the UK and beyond.

Find out more