BookTrust Storytime Prize 2020

The BookTrust Storytime Prize 2020 was won by Libby Walden and Jacqui Lee for their book This Is Owl.

The 2020 Storytime Prize trophy and the front cover of This is Owl

This playful, interactive book was voted for by families and librarians across the country as the best book for sharing with little ones.

Waterstones Children's Laureate Cressida Cowell, who helped to pick the Storytime Prize shortlist and announced the news during a virtual ceremony, described This Is Owl as 'a clever and original book with lovely illustrations', adding:

'The interactive elements - tickling Owl's tummy, flapping the pages to help Owl fly, calling Owl back with a loud Twit-twoo - make it wonderful for sharing for the early years age group, because they can join in joyfully with the story.'

Read the full news story

Get top tips for sharing stories from Storytime Prize judge Zoey Dixon

Enjoy Libby Walden reading This Is Owl below:

Celebrating the shortlisted books

There were six books in total nominated for the Storytime Prize this year. Alongside winner This Is Owl were:

  • B Is For Baby by Atinuke and Angela Brooksbank (Walker Books)
  • Go Go Pirate Boat by Katrina Charman and Nick Sharratt (Bloomsbury)
  • I Am A Tiger by Karl Newson and Ross Collins (Macmillan)
  • My Hair by Hannah Lee and Allen Fatimaharan (Faber Children's)
  • This Is Owl by Libby Walden and Jacqui Lee (Caterpillar Books)
  • 1, 2, 3 Do the Dinosaur by Michelle Robinson and Rosalind Beardshaw (Egmont)

BookTrust's CEO Diana Gerald said: 'BookTrust set up this prize to give credit to the wonderful authors and illustrators that create the books which give families so much pleasure, before children can read themselves or even talk.

'These are the books that will have families cuddled up on the sofa creating memories that last a lifetime, creating bonds and helping with emotional wellbeing, empathy and character development.

Read the full shortlist news story

More Storytime videos

Meet the shortlist

1, 2, 3 Do the Dinosaur

B is for Baby

Go Go Pirate Boat

I Am a Tiger

My Hair

Meet this year's judges

This year's Storytime Prize judging was a little different, thanks to the coronavirus pandemic - so the panel choosing the shortlist met on Zoom instead.

The 2020 Storytime Prize judges

The 2020 judges were:

  • Amy McKay - Librarian and children's book expert
  • Tricia Adams - Librarian and former Director of the School Library Association
  • Cressida Cowell - Waterstones Children's Laureate
  • Jake Hope - Reading development and children's book consultant
  • Shamim Khan - Assistant headteacher of early years
  • Zoey Dixon - Library manager and children's book champion
  • Ben Lawrence - Children's Library Service manager and Early Years advocate

We also had a range of regional judges, who shared the shortlisted books with hundreds of children, carers and families through virtual reading sessions to help choose the ultimate winner. They were:

  • East Midlands: Janet Winfield
  • London: Zoey Dixon
  • North East: Suzy Hill
  • North West: Amanda Childs
  • Northern Ireland: Valerie Christie
  • South East: Claire Groves
  • South West: Deborah Averill
  • Wales: Sioned Jacques
  • West Midlands: Mandy Crilly
  • Yorkshire: Ben Lawrence

This year's Storytime Prize

Want all the information about the latest Storytime Prize? Head this way to stay up to date with this year's award...

Find out more

You might also like

Waterstones Children's Laureate

Find out about Joseph Coelho

Find out everything that's going on with the 12th Waterstones Children's Laureate, Joseph Coelho, as he takes on the job from 2022-24.

Fun at home

BookTrust Hometime

Looking for something fun as a family? Enjoy storytime with our free online books and videos, play games, win prizes, test your knowledge in our book-themed quizzes, or even learn how to draw some of your favourite characters.

What's happening?

Stay up to date

Make sure you don't miss a thing with our news and features about everything to do with the children's book world.