Vitello Gets a Yucky Girlfriend

Publisher: Pushkin Children's

Review

Vitello and his mum live in a terraced house by a ring road where the traffic is noisy and his friends are annoying. When a new family move into the neighbourhood, Vitello is excited - but he is disappointed to discover they don't have a cool boy for him to play with, only a yucky girl. But an afternoon with Camilla and her crazy hamster proves more fun than Vitello could ever have expected: maybe having a 'yucky girlfriend' might not be so bad after all?

One of a series of stories about Vitello, which see him have a variety of adventures, this idiosyncratic book from Danish duo Kim Fupz Aakeson and Niels Bo Bojesen is full of quirky humour and an anarchic sense of fun that children will love. The scribbly illustrations have a chaotic, energetic quality, and with longer, more substantial blocks of text than in many picture books, there is plenty hear to appeal to older and more confident readers as well as younger children.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Pippi Longstocking

Author: Astrid Lindgren Translator: Tiina Nunnally Illustrator: Lauren Child

Follow Pippi Longstocking on her amazing adventures as she moves into Villa Villekulla with a horse, a monkey, and a big suitcase of gold coins.

Read more about Pippi Longstocking

Horrid Henry

Author: Francesca Simon Illustrator: Tony Ross

Stories about naughty characters have been told for centuries, and Horrid Henry is a modern-day rogue in the tradition of Dennis the Menace and Just William.

Read more about Horrid Henry