The Girl, the Cat and the Navigator

Publisher: Scholastic

Review

When Oona Britt is born, she is made to feel like a disappointment, but she doesn’t let this stop her achieving her dreams.

Inquisitive Oona Britt has always wanted to join her father on one of his voyages, especially since she discovered the mythical nardoos. When her mother and her sisters venture south, she instead chooses to sneak onto her father’s ship and go north to find it. But of course, it’s not as simple as that. She’s faced with being the only girl on the ship, trying to avoid catching a deadly illness and convincing her father that she should stay on the ship in order to ultimately feel valued.

Meanwhile, all her sisters are humorously concerned about whether they will find a nice prince to marry and how rich they will be. And of course, no sea adventure is without a ship cat!

Fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Katherine Rundell will become utterly engrossed in the journeys that the characters experience in this book. With a determined female main character who won’t take no for an answer, the story is complemented with illustrations on every page, enabling you to join Oona on her adventure of a lifetime.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Boy, The Bird and the Coffin Maker

Author: Matilda Woods

Allora is a small town so close to the ocean that fish fly out of the tumultuous sea; it's a town so small that secrets are impossible to keep.

Read more about The Boy, The Bird and the Coffin Maker

The Way Past Winter

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Mila lives alone with her sisters and brother in a land where a harsh winter came the year her father disappeared. When her brother vanishes too, Mila sets out on a dangerous journey. A thrilling adventure with the feel of a beautiful modern-day fairytale. 

Read more about The Way Past Winter