The Boy Who Sailed the Ocean in an Armchair

(12 reviews with an average rating of 4 out of 5)

Publisher: Usborne

Review

Becket Rumsey has several mysteries to solve. Amongst other things, he wants to find out why his dad decided they needed to move house and he wants to find a way to say goodbye to his mum. With the help of his younger brother Billy, and Billy's pet snail Brian, he manages to find the answers to these questions and others he wasn't aware he was asking.

Lara Williamson has created another book with a modern family at its heart. When Becket tries to understand the actions of the adults in his life, he often makes mistakes - and things don't start out brilliantly at his new school. 

We are shown how strange events can seem through the eyes of a young boy, but also how simple things can be inspirational. Fans of A Boy Called Hope will not be disappointed.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

A Boy Called Hope

Author: Lara Williamson

A Boy Called Hope is a moving story about a boy's search for his dad. Dan Hope is a funny and likeable boy who tackles the questions he has in his life head on. His determination to find answers is inspiring and will make the reader laugh as well as cry.

Read more about A Boy Called Hope

Beetle Boy

Author: MG Leonard

When Darkus' father mysteriously disappears from London’s Natural History Museum, Darkus has to move in with his rather odd Uncle Max AND change schools. A wonderfully funny and engaging book, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Read more about Beetle Boy