Swimming to the Moon

Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books

Review

Fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Elen Caldecott will like this real-world drama that manages to balance a story that stays light on its toes.

The unfortunately named Beatrix Daffodil Tulip Chrysanthemum Rose is named after the naff bunch of flowers her dad got at the petrol station after he missed her birth. Her parents are still arguing about that, and now Bee has lost her beloved great-grandmother, too. On top of that, her ex-best friend Chrystal is turning school into a nightmare.

Old films and dressing up feels like Bee's only escape until a new boy with an equally embarrassing name teaches her to swim. With his help, she'll be able to enter the sponsored swim and prove everybody wrong - but will it be enough to drown out the rest of her problems?

Warm and dreamy with just the right amount of quirk for young readers to identify with if they feel like outsiders.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Great Ice Cream Heist

Author: Elen Caldecott

Shy Eva lives a quiet life with her protective Dad - until the noisy McIntyre family move in next door.

Read more about The Great Ice Cream Heist

We Are Giants

Author: Amber Lee Dodd

Sydney's mother Amy is 124cm tall - and in her heart, Sydney longs to be a 'little person' too. She feels like she's growing too fast, and she's scared to outgrow her mum and lose their special connection. Perfect for young fans of Jacqueline Wilson.

Read more about We Are Giants