Summoner: The Outcast

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

The Prequel

Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books

Review

Arcturus is a common stable boy until one day he steals a noble born boy’s horse and, in the process, accidentally summons a demon – something only the high born are supposed to be able to do.

Sent to Vocans Academy by one of the Lords of Hominum to learn to be a Summoner, Arcturus soon discovers that his power doesn’t mean that the noble children will like him. He realises that the implications of his identity and abilities run much deeper than class prejudice.

Yet when Arcturus and his friends venture outside the Academy for a weekend of fun, they wander into trouble, and start to understand exactly what’s at stake for the rich and the poor in the fracturing Empire.

This prequel to the bestselling Summoner series is an excellent introduction to the world of Hominum for new readers, and a welcome “what happened before?” for fans of the trilogy. As with the other books in the series, Matharu combines a tight, thrilling, page-turning battle fantasy with a sensitive consideration of class, government and corruption, and what it means to have power, both within and without wealth and privilege.

Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, Pokemon, Skyrim and Harry Potter.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Subtle Knife

Author: Philip Pullman

On the run, 12-year-old Will stumbles upon a mysterious parallel world where he meets the savage young girl, Lyra. Their two seemingly separate missions lead them on a dangerous and compelling fantasy adventure.

Read more about The Subtle Knife

The Amber Spyglass

Author: Philip Pullman

Lyra and Will, the fiesty protagonists from the first two novels, are reunited to embark on their final, dangerous journey on which the future of all the worlds depend.

Read more about The Amber Spyglass