Summoner: The Outcast

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

The Prequel

Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books

Arcturus is a common stable boy until one day he steals a noble born boy’s horse and, in the process, accidentally summons a demon – something only the high born are supposed to be able to do.

Sent to Vocans Academy by one of the Lords of Hominum to learn to be a Summoner, Arcturus soon discovers that his power doesn’t mean that the noble children will like him. He realises that the implications of his identity and abilities run much deeper than class prejudice.

Yet when Arcturus and his friends venture outside the Academy for a weekend of fun, they wander into trouble, and start to understand exactly what’s at stake for the rich and the poor in the fracturing Empire.

This prequel to the bestselling Summoner series is an excellent introduction to the world of Hominum for new readers, and a welcome “what happened before?” for fans of the trilogy. As with the other books in the series, Matharu combines a tight, thrilling, page-turning battle fantasy with a sensitive consideration of class, government and corruption, and what it means to have power, both within and without wealth and privilege.

Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, Pokemon, Skyrim and Harry Potter.

More books like this

Nevertell

Author: Katharine Orton

After a daring escape, Lina and her best friend Bogdan find themselves on a quest to reach Moscow and find Lina’s grandmother. Many dangers lie ahead: including an angry ice witch and her spirit wolves. A magical, snowy adventure perfect for winter nights.

Read more about Nevertell

Under Earth

Author: Ellen Renner

Following on from the final scenes of the first book in the Storm Witch seriesUnder Earth sees Storm learning more about the extent of her powers and how she can harness them to defend the autonomy of her island home. 

Read more about Under Earth

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...