Summoner: The Outcast

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

The Prequel

Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books

Arcturus is a common stable boy until one day he steals a noble born boy’s horse and, in the process, accidentally summons a demon – something only the high born are supposed to be able to do.

Sent to Vocans Academy by one of the Lords of Hominum to learn to be a Summoner, Arcturus soon discovers that his power doesn’t mean that the noble children will like him. He realises that the implications of his identity and abilities run much deeper than class prejudice.

Yet when Arcturus and his friends venture outside the Academy for a weekend of fun, they wander into trouble, and start to understand exactly what’s at stake for the rich and the poor in the fracturing Empire.

This prequel to the bestselling Summoner series is an excellent introduction to the world of Hominum for new readers, and a welcome “what happened before?” for fans of the trilogy. As with the other books in the series, Matharu combines a tight, thrilling, page-turning battle fantasy with a sensitive consideration of class, government and corruption, and what it means to have power, both within and without wealth and privilege.

Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, Pokemon, Skyrim and Harry Potter.

More books like this

Hedgewitch

Author: Skye McKenna

When Cassie escapes her dreary boarding school, she's astonished to discover a magical world of witches - and what might be the secret to her long-lost mother's disappearance...

Read more about Hedgewitch

Llama on a Mission

Author: Annabelle Sami Illustrator: Allen Fatimaharan

After seven years of refusing to speak a word, ten-year-old Yasmin must now learn how to use her voice effectively, helped by a secret guardian: a llama called Levi. Full of mayhem and zany humour, and accompanied by hilarious black-and-white illustrations.

Read more about Llama on a Mission

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...