Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

(2 reviews with an average rating of 4 out of 5)

Publisher: Farshore

Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and mysteries around every corner. Wonder at the daring theft of the priceless clockwork sparrow! Tremble as the most dastardly criminals in London enact their wicked plans! Gasp as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, crack codes, devour iced buns and vow to bring the villians to justice…

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow is a delight to read, for both children and adults. Discovering Sinclair's Department Store, the setting of the mystery and where much of the book takes place, is a treat and the descriptions make the reader feel as if they are really there- 'It smelled luscious…a glorious fragrance of cocoa and candied violets and some other spicy scent.' The setting and gorgeous Edwardian period details along with the fast pace and intricate plotting make Clockwork Sparrow impossible to put down.

The characters are wonderful and varied. Sophie, the young shop girl, and Lil, the glamorous shop model, are heroines to root for. Both are smart, resourceful, and loyal, and they bring out the best in each other. The supporting characters, Billy and Joe, round out the group and each character brings something special to the story. Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow is a wonderful adventure full of friendship and heart, danger and mystery, and is not to be missed.

More books like this

Tiara Friends: The Case of the Stolen Crown

Author: Paula Harrison Illustrator: Michelle Ouellette

Best friends Princess Millie and maid Jess look so similar that they often trade places. When a crown is stolen, the pair team up to solve the mystery of its disappearance. The first in a series of royal crime capers.

Read more about Tiara Friends: The Case of the Stolen Crown

Mischief at Midnight

Author: Esme Kerr

Readers who enjoy Malory Towers, The Worst Witch or The Chalet School will find much to enjoy in this series of books.

Read more about Mischief at Midnight

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...