Ghoul Scouts: Welcome to Camp Croak

Publisher: Guppy Books

When ace storyteller Lexie finds herself marooned at Camp Croak for the summer, she’s happily at home with the three-headed witch Miss Parsleigh, Miss Sage and Miss Rosemarie, and the other ghoulish kids, all of whom love nothing better than sourcing poisons in the swamp, interior decorating with skulls and communing with the dead.

Yet when Euphemia Vile, a big-haired Texan glamazon, steps onto the scene, it’s clear that she’s got an evil agenda. Planning to make millions from Camp Croak, it seems like Euphemia can’t be stopped – unless Lexie, Sweet Boo, Bebe and Mary Shelley can think of a plan that utilises all the skills they’ve learnt at Camp Croak.

The first in a new series from Taylor Doran presents an original and distinctive Louisiana heroine, perfect for fans of Laura Ellen Anderson’s gothy-yet-funny Amelia Fang series or Sophy Henn’s Bad Nana books. Lexie’s dialogue is full of glo-ri-ous Louisiana turns of phrases and accents, but never so much that UK readers will lose their way. Ultimately, it’s a story of good (in this case, an Addams Family-style spooky swamp summer camp) being threatened by bad - the all-blonde, beauty-obsessed capitalist Euphemia Vile. Great fun.

More books like this

Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball

Author: Laura Ellen Anderson

The first in a series, this ghoulishly funny chapter book is full of fabulous gothic pen-and-ink illustrations and explores the importance of friendship.

Read more about Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball

Amelia Fang and the Unicorn Lords

Author: Laura Ellen Anderson

Anderson’s writing is as zany as ever in this third instalment of the Amelia Fang series. It's all presented completely accessibly and with tons of humour. The book reads well on its own even if children haven’t read the previous two. 

Read more about Amelia Fang and the Unicorn Lords

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...