Ghoul Scouts: Welcome to Camp Croak

Publisher: Guppy Books

When ace storyteller Lexie finds herself marooned at Camp Croak for the summer, she’s happily at home with the three-headed witch Miss Parsleigh, Miss Sage and Miss Rosemarie, and the other ghoulish kids, all of whom love nothing better than sourcing poisons in the swamp, interior decorating with skulls and communing with the dead.

Yet when Euphemia Vile, a big-haired Texan glamazon, steps onto the scene, it’s clear that she’s got an evil agenda. Planning to make millions from Camp Croak, it seems like Euphemia can’t be stopped – unless Lexie, Sweet Boo, Bebe and Mary Shelley can think of a plan that utilises all the skills they’ve learnt at Camp Croak.

The first in a new series from Taylor Doran presents an original and distinctive Louisiana heroine, perfect for fans of Laura Ellen Anderson’s gothy-yet-funny Amelia Fang series or Sophy Henn’s Bad Nana books. Lexie’s dialogue is full of glo-ri-ous Louisiana turns of phrases and accents, but never so much that UK readers will lose their way. Ultimately, it’s a story of good (in this case, an Addams Family-style spooky swamp summer camp) being threatened by bad - the all-blonde, beauty-obsessed capitalist Euphemia Vile. Great fun.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Bad Nana: All the Fun of the Fair

Author: Sophy Henn

The fair has come to town, but when Bad Nana's nemesis Mrs Farquar-Haha rigs the pet competition, who knows what could happen? The second in Sophy Henn's bright and brilliant series about a subversive grandma.

Read more about Bad Nana: All the Fun of the Fair

Bad Nana: Older Not Wiser

Author: Sophy Henn

Bad Nana is quite unlike Jeanie’s other two grandmas. So when Jeanie and her class go on a school trip, it’s no surprise that Bad Nana manages to make it a lot more interesting than anyone expected. A riot of bright colour and laugh-out-loud moments.

Read more about Bad Nana: Older Not Wiser