Donut the Destroyer

Publisher: Scholastic

Donut – full name Donut The Destroyer – is the daughter of legendary villains the Destroyers. Yet, now that she’s old enough to choose her own high school, Donut has enrolled at Lionheart School for Heroes, much to her parents’ dismay.

However, starting at Lionheart isn’t easy: being a villain among heroes, no matter how much she might want to use her powers for good, means that Donut feels left out and alone, until she meets friends Artie and Martha. Yet, her old life doesn’t want to let her go, and when old villain friend Ivy starts making trouble at Lionheart, it looks like Donut might get thrown out of school. Luckily, Artie and Martha are there to help her out of a tight spot…

Graley and Purenins’ thoroughly enjoyable comic/graphic novel is perfect for fans of Steven Universe, Adventure Time and She-Ra, where magic is part of the everyday but the real focus is on friendship and making the best of ourselves. Donut, Artie and Martha’s friendship is adorable, and their school experience (minus the monster-villains) will be relatable for many.

More books like this

Lori and Max and the Book Thieves

Author: Catherine O'Flynn

Ten year old Lori wants to be a detective when she grows up, and she's got all the kit - but crimes are a bit thin on the ground. That is, until her best friend Max's phone is stolen and the pair leap into action!

Read more about Lori and Max and the Book Thieves

Llama Out Loud

Author: Annabelle Sami Illustrator: Allen Fatimaharan

Yasmin is the quiet one in a really loud family, until Levi the magic toy llama comes along and forces everyone to listen to her.

Read more about Llama Out Loud

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...