Daughter of Fire and Ice

Publisher: Oxford University Press

Jensen sets her fifteen year-old heroine's story in the ninth century, when Norwegian Vikings settled Iceland.

Thora is a healer with second-sight, who avoids an unwelcome marriage to a cruel chieftain when Bjorn, an Irish slave, kills him and they escape to Iceland.

Having fallen in love, they are imprisoned en route by a Faroese ruler, and Bjorn buys Thora’s freedom by marrying his demanding and vindictive daughter.

Although we are never really in doubt that ultimately true love will win through, there are interesting twists in the narrative, and an unexpected denouement.

Overall Jensen creates a detailed and evocative picture of life in a harsh land in a time very different to ours.

More books like this

The Otherlife

Author: Julia Gray

An intelligent and insightful read, this YA novel manages to merge Norse myth, competitive parenting, bullying, class issues and exam pressures into a taut and chilling thriller. Perfect for fans of Sarah Govett and Neil Gaiman.

Read more about The Otherlife

Runelight

Author: Joanne Harris

In the second of this intelligent and humorous fantasy series, we meet Maggie Rede, living among the ruins of Universal City, who also bears a mysterious runemark.

Read more about Runelight

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...