Clyde

Publisher: Yoe Books

Review

Clyde, a little bear, has decided that Cubville isn't big or bad enough for him anymore, so after throwing his grandma into the lake (inexplicably, she's a turtle) he heads off to Grizzly City. However, when he tries to stuff a pine cone in a butterfly's ear, he comes off rather the worse for wear and wakes up in hospital where his new friend, the sparkly, tiny and frankly lethal butterfly Mellisa Sue is waiting for him.

The butterfly tries to explain that quiet, peaceful Cubville, with its lack of crime and violence, is quite a lot nicer than Grizzly City, where a little bear is likely to get creamed, but Clyde doesn't want to hear it. He's determined to be a tough guy, and tough guys like bad stuff. Not even Mellisa Sue's heartwarming story of the time she met an inspiring friend who taught her all about thermos flasks can dissuade him. Will Clyde ever become a good guy?

Fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants will adore Jim Benton's fast paced, clearly laid out and short comic: the humour is fast paced, zany and just the right kind of surreal to appeal to primary school kids looking for laughs.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Toyetica

Author: Matt LeGrow

Dollington Academy is a unique school helping ‘bittles’ (a race of tiny beings) learn everything they need to have successful careers as doll models. Toyetica is a fantastical and immersive world, with laugh-out-loud humour and some sophisticated themes.

Read more about Toyetica

Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea!

Author: Ben Clanton

Narwhal is a happy-go-lucky sea creature whose amazing horn-like tooth on his forehead earns him the nickname "unicorn of the sea". When he meets a jellyfish, they become firm friends. A quirky chapter book with a mixture of fun facts and nonsense stories.

Read more about Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea!