Clyde

Publisher: Yoe Books

Clyde, a little bear, has decided that Cubville isn't big or bad enough for him anymore, so after throwing his grandma into the lake (inexplicably, she's a turtle) he heads off to Grizzly City. However, when he tries to stuff a pine cone in a butterfly's ear, he comes off rather the worse for wear and wakes up in hospital where his new friend, the sparkly, tiny and frankly lethal butterfly Mellisa Sue is waiting for him.

The butterfly tries to explain that quiet, peaceful Cubville, with its lack of crime and violence, is quite a lot nicer than Grizzly City, where a little bear is likely to get creamed, but Clyde doesn't want to hear it. He's determined to be a tough guy, and tough guys like bad stuff. Not even Mellisa Sue's heartwarming story of the time she met an inspiring friend who taught her all about thermos flasks can dissuade him. Will Clyde ever become a good guy?

Fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants will adore Jim Benton's fast paced, clearly laid out and short comic: the humour is fast paced, zany and just the right kind of surreal to appeal to primary school kids looking for laughs.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Lou Out of Luck

Author: Nat Luurtsema

Lou’s life is not going to plan, but maybe she can rescue the situation with a little help from her performance club and a second-best friend who is into stuffed stoats. A great choice for anyone looking for light reading that will make them laugh out loud.

Read more about Lou Out of Luck

Jelly

Author: Jo Cotterill

Angelica – Jelly for short – is the ‘Funny One’ at school, known for her clever impressions and comedy sketches. But being funny is a fine line and behind all the humour, Jelly’s hiding anxieties about her weight. If they’re laughing with her, they’re not laughing at her, right? And she has another secret too, a secret hobby: writing poetry.

Read more about Jelly