Clyde

Publisher: Yoe Books

Clyde, a little bear, has decided that Cubville isn't big or bad enough for him anymore, so after throwing his grandma into the lake (inexplicably, she's a turtle) he heads off to Grizzly City. However, when he tries to stuff a pine cone in a butterfly's ear, he comes off rather the worse for wear and wakes up in hospital where his new friend, the sparkly, tiny and frankly lethal butterfly Mellisa Sue is waiting for him.

The butterfly tries to explain that quiet, peaceful Cubville, with its lack of crime and violence, is quite a lot nicer than Grizzly City, where a little bear is likely to get creamed, but Clyde doesn't want to hear it. He's determined to be a tough guy, and tough guys like bad stuff. Not even Mellisa Sue's heartwarming story of the time she met an inspiring friend who taught her all about thermos flasks can dissuade him. Will Clyde ever become a good guy?

Fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants will adore Jim Benton's fast paced, clearly laid out and short comic: the humour is fast paced, zany and just the right kind of surreal to appeal to primary school kids looking for laughs.

More books like this

Sweeties 1: Cherry/Skye

Author: Veronique Grisseaux Illustrator: Anna Merli Translator: Joe Johnson

When her dad moves in with his girlfriend, Cherry finds herself part of a whole new family. This comic-book adaptation of stories by Cathy Cassidy features some difficult family dynamics and a strikingly attractive ghost.

Read more about Sweeties 1: Cherry/Skye

Boffin Boy and the Poison Garden

Author: David Orme Illustrator: Peter Richardson

Both loyal Boffin Boy fans, and those discovering the series for the first time, will enjoy this outlandish adventure about a famous female scientist who is planting trees that look disturbingly like people and animals.

Read more about Boffin Boy and the Poison Garden

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...