Clyde

Publisher: Yoe Books

Clyde, a little bear, has decided that Cubville isn't big or bad enough for him anymore, so after throwing his grandma into the lake (inexplicably, she's a turtle) he heads off to Grizzly City. However, when he tries to stuff a pine cone in a butterfly's ear, he comes off rather the worse for wear and wakes up in hospital where his new friend, the sparkly, tiny and frankly lethal butterfly Mellisa Sue is waiting for him.

The butterfly tries to explain that quiet, peaceful Cubville, with its lack of crime and violence, is quite a lot nicer than Grizzly City, where a little bear is likely to get creamed, but Clyde doesn't want to hear it. He's determined to be a tough guy, and tough guys like bad stuff. Not even Mellisa Sue's heartwarming story of the time she met an inspiring friend who taught her all about thermos flasks can dissuade him. Will Clyde ever become a good guy?

Fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants will adore Jim Benton's fast paced, clearly laid out and short comic: the humour is fast paced, zany and just the right kind of surreal to appeal to primary school kids looking for laughs.

More books like this

Fox and Rabbit

Author: Beth Ferry Illustrator: Gergely Dudas

The fair has come to town and Rabbit is really excited about going on the Ferris wheel, but Rabbit’s best friend Fox is rather anxious about it. To help her friend, Rabbit sets out to win Fox a toy to hold onto during the ride – but that’s easier said than done! And how will Rabbit feel when Fox does much better at the games than she does? Fortunately, Fox a…

Read more about Fox and Rabbit

Big Rock and the Masked Avenger: Match One

Author: Jim Eldridge

This is the first book in an entertaining and fun packed adventure series. With endearing and comical characters, this is funny, enjoyable and easy to read.

Read more about Big Rock and the Masked Avenger: Match One

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...