Children of Blood and Bone

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Macmillan

Magic has gone from the world, vanished when Zelie’s mother was violently murdered by the King’s men. Now the Maji clans, marked out by their silver hair, live in constant fear. Zelie longs to rebel, but her chance doesn’t come until she finds herself having to protect a runaway princess, Amari, who is carrying a scroll that can bring magic back to the world.

The girls should be on opposite sides of this bitter war, driven by Amari’s father and brother, but instead they join forces in a desperate race to get the scroll to its rightful place, and restore magic to the world.

Adeyemi has created a thrilling rollercoaster ride of a book, set in a fantasy world based in African tradition. This book is likely to appeal to readers who enjoyed Eragon, Devil’s Kiss or the successful film Black Panther.

More books like this

Oksa Pollock: The Last Hope

Author: Anne Plichota and Cendrine Wolf Translator: Sue Rose

The Oksa Pollock series has legions of fans all over the world, and this first installment leaves us in no doubt why.

Read more about Oksa Pollock: The Last Hope

Moonchild: City of the Sun

Author: Aisha Bushby Illustrator: Rachael Dean

This exciting sequel to Moonchild: Voyage of the Lost and Found celebrates the magic of storytelling, set in a universe where moonchildren Farah and Amira have a magical animal companion, known as a jinni, who is linked to their emotions. 

Read more about Moonchild: City of the Sun

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...