Children of Blood and Bone

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Macmillan

Magic has gone from the world, vanished when Zelie’s mother was violently murdered by the King’s men. Now the Maji clans, marked out by their silver hair, live in constant fear. Zelie longs to rebel, but her chance doesn’t come until she finds herself having to protect a runaway princess, Amari, who is carrying a scroll that can bring magic back to the world.

The girls should be on opposite sides of this bitter war, driven by Amari’s father and brother, but instead they join forces in a desperate race to get the scroll to its rightful place, and restore magic to the world.

Adeyemi has created a thrilling rollercoaster ride of a book, set in a fantasy world based in African tradition. This book is likely to appeal to readers who enjoyed Eragon, Devil’s Kiss or the successful film Black Panther.

More books like this

The Hidden Star

Author: K Sello Duiker

Part mystery, part quest, this book uses magic realism to tell an absorbing story about friendship and courage, which is filled with talking dogs, renegades who occupy the space between good and bad, and evil night riders that must be defeated.

Read more about The Hidden Star

What Sunny Saw in the Flames

Author: Nnedi Okorafor

The first book of a fantasy adventure series set in contemporary Nigeria, this book is full of jeopardy, juju and mythical monstrosities. 

Read more about What Sunny Saw in the Flames

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...