Children of Blood and Bone

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Macmillan

Magic has gone from the world, vanished when Zelie’s mother was violently murdered by the King’s men. Now the Maji clans, marked out by their silver hair, live in constant fear. Zelie longs to rebel, but her chance doesn’t come until she finds herself having to protect a runaway princess, Amari, who is carrying a scroll that can bring magic back to the world.

The girls should be on opposite sides of this bitter war, driven by Amari’s father and brother, but instead they join forces in a desperate race to get the scroll to its rightful place, and restore magic to the world.

Adeyemi has created a thrilling rollercoaster ride of a book, set in a fantasy world based in African tradition. This book is likely to appeal to readers who enjoyed Eragon, Devil’s Kiss or the successful film Black Panther.

More books like this

Northern Lights

Author: Philip Pullman

This extraordinary fantasy is the first book in Philip Pullman's multi-award-winning His Dark Materials trilogy

Read more about Northern Lights

Sunny and the Mysteries of Osisi

Author: Nnedi Okorafor

The second book of a fantasy adventure series set in contemporary Nigeria. Can Sunny and her friends use juju and natural abilities to save the Niger delta from destruction?Great for those looking for some magical escapism.

Read more about Sunny and the Mysteries of Osisi

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...