Print page

Best Books: 6-8 years

The Enchanted Wood

In 2015, we put together a list of the 100 best books for children from the last 100 years.

The books below are the ones suitable for 6-8 year olds.

Interested in seeing all 100 books across the different age groups?

See our best books for other age groups

  • Mister Magnolia

    Author: Quentin Blake
    Publisher: Random House

    Mr Magnolia has many things - but only one boot.

  • The Queen's Nose

    Author: Dick KingSmith
    Publisher: Puffin

    Harmony's Uncle Ginger sends her on a treasure trail - which ends in finding a 50p piece.

  • The True Story of the Three Little Pigs

    Author: Jon Scieszka Illustrator: Lane Smith
    Publisher: Penguin

    What really happened to the three little pigs and the big bad wolf? Find out the truth in this hilarious picture book.

  • The Sheep-Pig

    Author: Dick King-Smith Illustrator: Mike Terry
    Publisher: Penguin

    When Farmer Hogget wins a piglet at the fair, he is amazed that Fly, his sheep-dog, welcomes him as one of her own pups.

  • That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown

    Author: Cressida Cowell Illustrator: Neal Layton
    Publisher: Hachette

    Emily and her toy rabbit, Stanley, love to go on adventures together.

  • Clarice Bean, That's Me

    Author: Lauren Child
    Publisher: Orchard Books

    Clarice Bean gives us a snapshot of her life and family in the book that launched a bestselling series.

  • Amazing Grace

    Author: Mary Hoffman Illustrator: Caroline Binch
    Publisher: Frances Lincoln

    This classic story clearly communicates an inspiring message that anything is possible

  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid

    Author: Jeff Kinney
    Publisher: Puffin

    Greg Heffley is a normal American kid, albeit one with a habit of getting into (and out of) trouble.

  • The BFG

    Author: Roald Dahl Illustrator: Quentin Blake
    Publisher: Puffin

    The BFG stands for Big Friendly Giant, who unexpectedly spirits a little girl named Sophie out of bed, and into the land of the child-eating giants.

  • A Bear Called Paddington

    Author: Michael Bond Illustrator: Peggy Fortnum
    Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books

    Paddington, the brown bear from darkest Peru, is found by the Brown family on Paddington Station with his hat, duffel coat and marmalade sandwiches.

  • Asterix the Gaul

    Author: Renné Goscinny Illustrator: Albert Uderzo Translator: Anthea Bell and Derek Hockridge
    Publisher: Orion

    In a tiny corner of Brittany, one small village of indomitable Gauls hold out against the almighty, all-conquering Romans.

  • Finn Family Moomintroll

    Author: Tove Jansson Translator: Elizabeth Portch
    Publisher: Puffin Books

    Moomintroll is cheerful and chubby and lives in the magical Moominvalley with his mother, Moominmamma, his father, Moominpappa and all of their friends.

  • Pippi Longstocking

    Author: Astrid Lindgren Translator: Tiina Nunnally Illustrator: Lauren Child
    Publisher: Oxford University Press

    Follow Pippi Longstocking on her amazing adventures as she moves into Villa Villekulla with a horse, a monkey, and a big suitcase of gold coins.

  • Horrid Henry

    Author: Francesca Simon Illustrator: Tony Ross
    Publisher: Orion Children's Books

    Stories about naughty characters have been told for centuries, and Horrid Henry is a modern-day rogue in the tradition of Dennis the Menace and Just William.

  • Winnie-the-Pooh

    Author: A A Milne Illustrator: E H Shepherd
    Publisher: Egmont Books

    No child's library could be complete without A A Milne's stories about Pooh, Christopher Robin and their friends in the Hundred Acre Wood.

  • The Story of Babar

    Author: Jean De Brunhoff Translator: Merle S. Haas
    Publisher: Egmont

    ' In the great forest, a litle elephant was born. His name was Babar...'

  • Little House in the Big Woods

    Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder
    Publisher: Egmont

    Inside the little house live the Ingalls family: Ma, Pa, Mary, Laura and baby Carrie.

  • The Enchanted Wood

    Author: Enid Blyton
    Publisher: Egmont

    When Joe, Beth and Frannie move into a new home, they discover a mysterious wood on their very doorstep.

  • My Naughty Little Sister

    Author: Dorothy Edwards Illustrator: Shirley Hughes
    Publisher: Egmont

    This affectionate portrait of family life is the story of a naughty three-year-old sister who is obstinate, inquisitive and full of mischief.

  • Charlotte's Web

    Author: E B White Illustrator: Garth Williams
    Publisher: Puffin

    This is the tale of how a little girl named Fern - with the help of a friendly talking spider called Charlotte - saved her pig, Wilbur, from the usual fate of nice fat little pigs.

  • Flat Stanley

    Author: Jeff Brown Illustrator: Scott Nash
    Publisher: Egmont

    Stanley Lambchop wakes up one morning to find he is only half an inch thick

  • The Worst Witch

    Author: Jill Murphy
    Publisher: Puffin

    Long before Harry Potter first went to Hogwarts, trainee witch Mildred Hubble embarked on life at Miss Cackle's Academy for Witches...

  • The Milly-Molly-Mandy Storybook

    Author: Joyce Lankester Brisley
    Publisher: Macmillan

    Milly-Molly-Mandy lives with her mother, father, uncle, aunt, grandmother and grandfather in a 'nice white cottage with a thatched roof'.

  • The Arrival

    Author: Shaun Tan
    Publisher: Hachette

    In this unusual book, we follow a young man as he packs his bags and leaves his family to go and start a new life in another country