Print page

Best Books: 6-8 years

The Arrival

In 2015, we put together a list of the 100 best books for children from the last 100 years.

The books below are the ones suitable for 6-8 year olds.

Interested in seeing all 100 books across the different age groups?

See our best books for other age groups

  • Mister Magnolia

    Quentin Blake
    Random House

    Mr Magnolia has many things - but only one boot.

  • The Queen's Nose

    Dick KingSmith
    Puffin

    Harmony's Uncle Ginger sends her on a treasure trail - which ends in finding a 50p piece.

  • The True Story of the Three Little Pigs

    Jon Scieszka, Illustrated by Lane Smith
    Penguin

    What really happened to the three little pigs and the big bad wolf? Find out the truth in this hilarious picture book.

  • The Sheep-Pig

    Dick King-Smith, Illustrated by Mike Terry
    Penguin

    When Farmer Hogget wins a piglet at the fair, he is amazed that Fly, his sheep-dog, welcomes him as one of her own pups.

  • That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown

    Cressida Cowell, Illustrator: Neal Layton
    Hachette

    Emily and her toy rabbit, Stanley, love to go on adventures together.

  • Clarice Bean, That's Me

    Lauren Child
    Orchard Books

    Clarice Bean gives us a snapshot of her life and family in the book that launched a bestselling series.

  • Amazing Grace

    Mary Hoffman Illustrated by Caroline Binch
    Frances Lincoln

    This classic story clearly communicates an inspiring message that anything is possible

  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid

    Jeff Kinney
    Puffin

    Greg Heffley is a normal American kid, albeit one with a habit of getting into (and out of) trouble.

  • The BFG

    Roald Dahl Illustrated by Quentin Blake
    Puffin

    The BFG stands for Big Friendly Giant, who unexpectedly spirits a little girl named Sophie out of bed, and into the land of the child-eating giants.

  • A Bear Called Paddington

    Michael Bond, Illustrated by Peggy Fortnum
    HarperCollins Children's Books

    Paddington, the brown bear from darkest Peru, is found by the Brown family on Paddington Station with his hat, duffel coat and marmalade sandwiches.

  • Asterix the Gaul

    Renné Goscinny, Illustrated by Albert Uderzo, Translated by Anthea Bell and Derek Hockridge
    Orion

    In a tiny corner of Brittany, one small village of indomitable Gauls hold out against the almighty, all-conquering Romans.

  • Finn Family Moomintroll

    Tove Jansson, Translated by Elizabeth Portch
    Puffin Books

    Moomintroll is cheerful and chubby and lives in the magical Moominvalley with his mother, Moominmamma, his father, Moominpappa and all of their friends.

  • Pippi Longstocking

    Astrid Lindgren Translated by Tiina Nunnally Illustrated by Lauren Child
    Oxford University Press

    Follow Pippi Longstocking on her amazing adventures as she moves into Villa Villekulla with a horse, a monkey, and a big suitcase of gold coins.

  • Horrid Henry

    Francesca Simon Illustrated by Tony Ross
    Orion Children's Books

    Stories about naughty characters have been told for centuries, and Horrid Henry is a modern-day rogue in the tradition of Dennis the Menace and Just William.

  • Winnie-the-Pooh

    A A Milne Illustrated by E H Shepherd
    Egmont Books

    No child's library could be complete without A A Milne's stories about Pooh, Christopher Robin and their friends in the Hundred Acre Wood.

  • The Story of Babar

    Jean De Brunhoff Translated by Merle S. Haas
    Egmont

    ' In the great forest, a litle elephant was born. His name was Babar...'

  • Little House in the Big Woods

    Laura Ingalls Wilder
    Egmont

    Inside the little house live the Ingalls family: Ma, Pa, Mary, Laura and baby Carrie.

  • The Enchanted Wood

    Enid Blyton
    Egmont

    When Joe, Beth and Frannie move into a new home, they discover a mysterious wood on their very doorstep.

  • My Naughty Little Sister

    Dorothy Edwards Illustrated by Shirley Hughes
    Egmont

    This affectionate portrait of family life is the story of a naughty three-year-old sister who is obstinate, inquisitive and full of mischief.

  • Charlotte's Web

    E B White Illustrated by Garth Williams
    Puffin

    This is the tale of how a little girl named Fern - with the help of a friendly talking spider called Charlotte - saved her pig, Wilbur, from the usual fate of nice fat little pigs.

  • Flat Stanley

    Jeff Brown, Illustrated by Scott Nash
    Egmont

    Stanley Lambchop wakes up one morning to find he is only half an inch thick

  • The Worst Witch

    Jill Murphy
    Puffin

    Long before Harry Potter first went to Hogwarts, trainee witch Mildred Hubble embarked on life at Miss Cackle's Academy for Witches...

  • The Milly-Molly-Mandy Storybook

    Joyce Lankester Brisley
    Macmillan

    Milly-Molly-Mandy lives with her mother, father, uncle, aunt, grandmother and grandfather in a 'nice white cottage with a thatched roof'.

  • The Arrival

    Shaun Tan
    Hachette

    In this unusual book, we follow a young man as he packs his bags and leaves his family to go and start a new life in another country