The New Teacher

Publisher: Alma Books

Review

A delightful little story that welcomes a fabulously eccentric character in the form of Miss Charlotte. She's a bit Mary Poppins, a bit Nurse Matilda, and a whole lot of fun. Children will delight in her unconventional methods and adult readers will be chuckling along, too.

Armed with her pet pebble Gertrude and her round floppy hat, Miss Charlotte, the new teacher, charms her unsuspecting class with a mix of common sense and absolute nonsense.

Miss Charlotte's timetable allows the children to condense all their compulsory lessons into a couple of hours of solid work in the morning, so they can spend the rest of the day having fun.

But Miss Charlotte is not exactly who she says - and when the teacher and parents find out, it's up to the class to step in and save her.

Tony Ross's brilliant illustrations will appeal to readers looking for something between Horrid Henry and David Walliams.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Horrid Henry

Author: Francesca Simon Illustrator: Tony Ross

Stories about naughty characters have been told for centuries, and Horrid Henry is a modern-day rogue in the tradition of Dennis the Menace and Just William.

Read more about Horrid Henry

Gangsta Granny

Author: David Walliams Illustrator: Tony Ross

Ben hates visiting his Granny every Friday night while his parents go to ballroom dancing. Then he discovers Granny isn't quite what she seems, and life takes a dramatic turn for the better.

Read more about Gangsta Granny