The New Football Coach

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Alma Junior

Miss Charlotte has been recruited to coach the Black Duck Brook Football Club, but she's not quite what the children expected: tall and thin like an asparagus, she wears strange clothes and a huge hat a bit like a witch's, but with a round top instead of a pointy one. Still, as long as Miss Charlotte does her job better than ex-Army Colonel Reginald Robust, their rival team's coach, then they'll be okay.

But Miss Charlotte's methods are odd, to say the least, and the children balk initially at her ideas about learning to lose, talking to her special football Anatole, and her mysterious drink, smalalamiam. Yet Miss Charlotte is wise, and maybe her special methods will bring unusual rewards...

The third book in Dominique Demers' series about unusual and mysterious teachers, The New Football Coach is a quirky and warm-hearted story about doing your best, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

More books like this

The Bare Bum Gang and the Football Face Off

Author: Anthony McGowan

As everyone knows, a gang's den is sacred no matter how dirty, dark or smelly it may be so when the Bare Bum Gang's den is at risk they will do anything they can to save it.

Read more about The Bare Bum Gang and the Football Face Off

Mutant Zombies Cursed my School Trip!

Author: Matt Brown Illustrator: Paco Sordo

Children will laugh their heads off at this zombie adventure. Full of gooey fun, the story is a rollercoaster ride with monsters, close calls and a sweet friendship, too.

Read more about Mutant Zombies Cursed my School Trip!

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...