The New Football Coach

Publisher: Alma Junior

Review

Miss Charlotte has been recruited to coach the Black Duck Brook Football Club, but she's not quite what the children expected: tall and thin like an asparagus, she wears strange clothes and a huge hat a bit like a witch's, but with a round top instead of a pointy one. Still, as long as Miss Charlotte does her job better than ex-Army Colonel Reginald Robust, their rival team's coach, then they'll be okay.

But Miss Charlotte's methods are odd, to say the least, and the children balk initially at her ideas about learning to lose, talking to her special football Anatole, and her mysterious drink, smalalamiam. Yet Miss Charlotte is wise, and maybe her special methods will bring unusual rewards...

The third book in Dominique Demers' series about unusual and mysterious teachers, The New Football Coach is a quirky and warm-hearted story about doing your best, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Not If I See You First

Author: Eric Lindstrom

Parker Grant doesn't need perfect vision to see right through you. That's why she created the Rules: don't treat her any differently just because she's blind, and never take advantage.

Read more about Not If I See You First

Dino FC: The Great Kit Catastrophe

Author: Keith Brumpton

Days are dark for Dino FC. Their team shirts are shabby and ripped, the elastic on their shorts is sagging – and their footballing fortunes are equally woeful.

Read more about Dino FC: The Great Kit Catastrophe