The King Arthur Trilogy

Publisher: Vintage Children's Classics

One volume combines Rosemary Sutcliffe's three classic books2 about King Arthur and his knights. Beginning before Arthur's birth and ending with the disintegration of the brotherhood of the Round Table, this mystical retelling of the ancient legends takes readers on a magical journey through the England of the Dark Ages. The story of the Sword in the Stone and of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight may already be familiar to young readers but how many will know the tragic tale of Tristan and Iseult or recognise Beaumains the Kitchen Knight? Positively bursting with heroic quests, damsels in distress and chivalrous deeds, along with a fair smattering of magic, courtesy of Merlin and the Lady of the Lake, this is an ideal introduction to the Arthurian stories from a respected author whose work has stood the test of time.

More books like this

The Sleeping Sword

Author: Sir Michael Morpurgo

Like Michael Morpurgo's other stories, this is a convincing and compelling tale that illustrates beautifully the value of friendship, family and positive thinking.

Read more about The Sleeping Sword

Here Lies Arthur

Author: Philip Reeve

The violence is darkly terrifying, the sense of landscape immediate and haunting and Gwyna/Gwyn's shifting gender permits Reeve to cast a unique, strikingly vivid glimpse into dark-age Britain.

Read more about Here Lies Arthur

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...