The Genius Aged 8¼

Publisher: Barrington Stoke

Review

Alfie's parents are rather surprised when they suddenly have a baby. They name him Squeaky Squawky Redface Splurp Bottom and play games with him like 'toss the baby over the pond'. In case you haven't worked it out, Alfie's parents are very, very silly and it's no time at all until young Alfie is showing common sense beyond his years.

His no-nonsense approach to everything means he ends up with a few extra jobs to do. Alfie is headteacher of his school, mayor of his town and prime minister of his country - all before his ninth birthday.

There are giggles and guffaws aplenty in this madcap mini-story from Barrington Stoke's colour-illustrated Little Gems series and bestselling comedy author Jeremy Strong. The neat format, cream paper and clear font make this suitable for readers with dyslexia, and encouraging to reluctant readers - but children everywhere will find the fun in this ridiculous story of foolish adults and one smart kid.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Badly Drawn Beth

Author: Knife & Packer

A comic/storybook crossover where hilarious heroine, Beth, charts her survival of school, friends (best and worst), the dreaded family barbecue and other natural disasters.

Read more about Badly Drawn Beth

Beetle Boy

Author: MG Leonard

When Darkus' father mysteriously disappears from London’s Natural History Museum, Darkus has to move in with his rather odd Uncle Max AND change schools. A wonderfully funny and engaging book, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Read more about Beetle Boy