Over Sea, Under Stone

Publisher: Red Fox

On holiday in Cornwall, Simon, Jane and Barney discover an ancient map in the attic of the Grey House, where they are staying with their much-loved but mysterious Great Uncle Merry. But this apparently innocent discovery soon leads them to an extraordinary quest to discover an ancient grail, which sets them in the midst of an ancient and terrible battle between the forces of darkness and light. 

The first book in Susan Cooper's magnificent The Dark is Rising sequence combines elements of a traditional children's adventure story with fantasy and myth. Full of suspense and magic, it will captivate young readers imaginations, and leave them eager to read the other four books in this extraordinary series.

More books like this

Ghost Hawk

Author: Susan Cooper

Set in 17th century America, this is the story of Little Hawk and the young settler to whom he becomes irrevocably and fatally linked.

Read more about Ghost Hawk

King of Shadows

Author: Susan Cooper

Nat Field, an orphaned American actor, is taken ill during a performance and slips back in time to the Tudor era.

Read more about King of Shadows

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...