Our Chemical Hearts

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Henry Page is a hopeless romantic who's never been in love. Grace Town, who walks with a cane, wears oversized clothes, and rarely showers, isn't the dream girl he imagined - but when they are both chosen to edit the school paper, it doesn't take long for him to start falling for her. It's obvious there is something broken about Grace, and Henry wants to help her put the pieces back together again. But some things can't be fixed.

Krystal Sutherland's beautiful, bittersweet, and brilliant debut is without a doubt one of the best teen novels of the year. Sutherland skillfully dismantles the 'manic pixie dreamgirl' trope while also exploring what it is about first love, and first heartbreak, that is so intoxicating. Our Chemical Hearts is incredibly cinematic, and the characters are wonderfully well-drawn and believable, the main characters and the supporting cast come alive on the page. The book manages to tug on your heartstrings while also being laugh-out-loud funny and unexpectedly insightful. With her fantastic debut, Sutherland has firmly established herself as a rising star in teen fiction.

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sara Barnard.  

More books like this

Eleanor & Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is a beautifully-written love story about two high school outsiders

Read more about Eleanor & Park

Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Wren is excited about starting a new life at college, but twin sister Cath is much more comfortable in the world of the fan fiction she writes, preferring to write about romance than to experience it for herself.

Read more about Fangirl

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...