Our Chemical Hearts

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Henry Page is a hopeless romantic who's never been in love. Grace Town, who walks with a cane, wears oversized clothes, and rarely showers, isn't the dream girl he imagined - but when they are both chosen to edit the school paper, it doesn't take long for him to start falling for her. It's obvious there is something broken about Grace, and Henry wants to help her put the pieces back together again. But some things can't be fixed.

Krystal Sutherland's beautiful, bittersweet, and brilliant debut is without a doubt one of the best teen novels of the year. Sutherland skillfully dismantles the 'manic pixie dreamgirl' trope while also exploring what it is about first love, and first heartbreak, that is so intoxicating. Our Chemical Hearts is incredibly cinematic, and the characters are wonderfully well-drawn and believable, the main characters and the supporting cast come alive on the page. The book manages to tug on your heartstrings while also being laugh-out-loud funny and unexpectedly insightful. With her fantastic debut, Sutherland has firmly established herself as a rising star in teen fiction.

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sara Barnard.  

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Beautiful Broken Things

Author: Sara Barnard

Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Then Suzanne comes into their lives, and things get a whole lot more complicated. Heartfelt, hopeful, and surprisingly funny at times, this is a gorgeous tribute to female friendship.

Read more about Beautiful Broken Things

An Abundance of Katherines

Author: John Green

When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton's type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped.

Read more about An Abundance of Katherines