Norman the Norman from Normandy

Publisher: Barrington Stoke

Review

Norman the Norman from Normandy is the son of the feared and respected Great Big Norman who was killed in battle and whose body was shared between three graves from the three Bretons from Brittany. Norman vows to visit the graves to pay his respect, but accidentally finds himself avenging his father’s death by killing the three Bretons with his father’s outrageously big broadsword. Norman returns to his home a hero - but none the wiser as to why!

Philip Ardagh’s extra-silly sense of humour is on full display in this brilliant new addition to Barrington Stoke’s excellent Little Gem series.

Packed with colour illustrations and fab extras, such as Norman jokes and a quiz to discover which kind of Normal soldier you are, this is a perfect little package for emerging readers who like their stories seriously funny.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Perijee and Me

Author: Ross Montgomery

When 11-year-old Caitlin discovers a shrimp-like alien creature on the shores of her island home, she takes responsibility for teaching it about the world. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Studio Ghibli films.

Read more about Perijee and Me

I Never Liked Wednesdays

Author: Roger McGough Illustrator: Michael Broad

A hilarious tale about two young boys getting up to mischief and into scrapes in latter-day Liverpool, by the award-winning poet, playwright and author, Roger McGough.

Read more about I Never Liked Wednesdays