Publisher: Indigo

In seven stories that take place on the strange island of Blessed, two souls seek each other over a period of a thousand years. Beginning in the future, each story delves deeper into the past. It moves back through the present to the World War II, the 19th-century, the Viking era and finally to a time unknown. And in each story there is blood and doomed love and sacrifice. A young couple are ritually slain and a farmer saves the life of a man he dislikes. A pagan king offers up his life to save his people and a brother to save his sister from a vampire.

The winner of the 2007 Booktrust Teenage Prize has created a dark, compelling novel, skilfully structured and beautifully-written

Share this page with your friends

More books like this


Author: Marcus Sedgwick

'They say dead men tell no tales, but they're wrong. Even the dead tell stories.'

Read more about Revolver

The Foreshadowing

Author: Marcus Sedgwick

17-year-old Sasha travels to France as a volunteer nurse in an attempt to rescue her beloved brother Tom from a terrible death. But can she really change the future?

Read more about The Foreshadowing