Lion Lessons

Publisher: Scallywag Press

It’s not easy getting your lion diploma. There are seven steps: looking fierce, roaring, choosing what to eat (muskrat, gnu, iguana and antelope are on the menu: spaghetti definitely isn’t), prowling around, sprinting, pouncing and looking out for your friends. The little boy who ventures into the Lion Lessons shop on the high street certainly finds it difficult to make his instructor happy – that is, until a neighbourhood cat is in danger…

Jon Agee’s picture book is delightfully simple and masterfully brilliant, just like his previous title The Wall in the Middle of the Book. In Lion Lessons, Agee’s illustration is reminiscent of Maurice Sendak in the depiction of the boy’s journey into his own wildness  - and knowing that, while it’s most of the time not necessary to roar, sometimes we can still be fierce in protecting others who are less roar-some than ourselves.

Perfect for fans of Ed Vere’s How To Be A Lion.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Wall in the Middle of the Book

Author: Jon Agee

Jon Agee is a well-known picture book author-illustrator in the US and this deceptively simple concept about walls, and what they keep in and out, is exceptionally well executed. A thought-provoking, topical book about relating to others.

Read more about The Wall in the Middle of the Book

How To Be A Lion

Author: Ed Vere

Leonard is a gentle lion: just because you’re a lion doesn’t mean that you have to roar. A book about ignoring the aggressive voices in our society and lending an ear to our quieter thoughts, this is a warm and reassuring story. 

Read more about How To Be A Lion