How to Wash a Woolly Mammoth

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Does your woolly mammoth need a wash? This picture book will show you how! A little girl, sensibly clad in a yellow mackintosh and red wellington boots offers readers a step-by-step guide to bathing a mammoth, including everything from how to get the mammoth into the tub (try a skateboard or maybe a heavy-duty crane, or even luring him in with a cake) to how to wash his hair. Just make sure he doesn't get any soap in his eyes…

With a minimal text and delightful illustrations from Kate Hindley, this is a fun spin on the instruction manual format. There is plenty of humour to keep small readers entertained, and Hindley's adorable pictures brilliantly capture the woolly mammoth's changing moods - from panic when the soap goes in his eyes, to his final sense of happiness and contentment when he's out of the bath and snugly wrapped in a towel. Be sure to look out for all the funny mammoth bathroom products on the back cover - ranging from tusk whitener to antibacterial hoof wash. This is great fun to share, and might just persuade any youngsters with an aversion to bath time that having a wash isn't so bad after all.

More books like this

The Cave

Author: Rob Hodgson

There is a cave that is home to a creature: a creature that never leaves its cave… Because of the wolf. A laugh-out-loud story with a very BIG surprise and some glorious artwork: perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Chris Haughton.

Read more about The Cave

Mwnci Bach / Little Monkey

Author: Marta Altes Adapted by Elin Meek

Lleia' i gyd wyt ti, mwya' i gyd y gall dy anturiaethau di fod. Stori ddwyieithog fywiog wedi'i darlunio'n hyfryd am fwnci bach yn mentro allan i'r byd mawr yn y jyngl. 


The smaller you are, the bigger your adventures can be! A lively bilingual story, beautifully illustrated, about a little monkey venturing out into the great big world of the jungle.&n…

Read more about Mwnci Bach / Little Monkey

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...