Holes

Publisher: 360 degrees

Burrows and boreholes, subways and sinkholes; fractures and caves, tunnels and mines: the sheer variety of underground expanses that could in any way be described as a "hole" are explored and excavated in this lovely and fascinating hardback from Jonathan Litton and Thomas Hegbrook.

Even the philosophical concept of a hole is considered, from Sartre to Lao Zi – as well as surprising revelations, such as the knowledge that some buildings in Hong Kong have been constructed with huge holes in them to allow the free passage of dragons.

Litton’s text is engaging and interesting for a middle to upper primary audience, and the balance of text to illustration is just right, with everything clear and easy to read. Thomas Hegbrook’s illustration is full of interest and feels modern and cool for younger readers.

Fans of Under Earth, Under Water by Aleksandra and David Mizielinski – or any budding archaeologists – will really enjoy this original take on the natural and built environment.

More books like this

How the World Works

Author: Christiane Dorion Illustrator: Beverley Young

Your jaw will drop at the Big Bang and then you will find out that it is gravity which caused your jaw to drop. This ingenious book is a 3D extravaganza and perfect for curious young minds.

Read more about How the World Works

Earth Heroes: Twenty Inspiring Stories of People Saving Our World

Author: Lily Dyu Illustrator: Jackie Lay

When faced with climate change, the biggest threat that our planet has ever confronted, it's easy to feel as if there is nothing you can do. Luckily, Lily Dyu's Earth Heroes is here to tell us different. It's perfect for young activists in the making, aged 8 and up. 

Read more about Earth Heroes: Twenty Inspiring Stories of People Saving Our World

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...