Holes

Publisher: 360 degrees

Burrows and boreholes, subways and sinkholes; fractures and caves, tunnels and mines: the sheer variety of underground expanses that could in any way be described as a "hole" are explored and excavated in this lovely and fascinating hardback from Jonathan Litton and Thomas Hegbrook.

Even the philosophical concept of a hole is considered, from Sartre to Lao Zi – as well as surprising revelations, such as the knowledge that some buildings in Hong Kong have been constructed with huge holes in them to allow the free passage of dragons.

Litton’s text is engaging and interesting for a middle to upper primary audience, and the balance of text to illustration is just right, with everything clear and easy to read. Thomas Hegbrook’s illustration is full of interest and feels modern and cool for younger readers.

Fans of Under Earth, Under Water by Aleksandra and David Mizielinski – or any budding archaeologists – will really enjoy this original take on the natural and built environment.

More books like this

Old Enough to Save the Planet

Author: Loll Kirby Illustrator: Aledina Lirius

Telling the stories of twelve young activists inspiring change in their communities and around the world, this is a book to treasure and so too are the young people whose stories it contains. Celebrating young activists, in style, it will inform and inspire many more.

Read more about Old Enough to Save the Planet

Climate Rebels

Author: Ben Lerwill

An inspiring collection of climate activists from all over the world, perfect for older primary school children. It’s the ideal way to feel informed about what’s going on now, and will have young readers thinking about they can help in their own communities.

Read more about Climate Rebels

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...