Goodly and Grave In a Bad Case of Kidnap

Publisher: Harper Collins

Review

After being duped during an important round of poker, Lucy Goodly finds herself working for the grumpy Lord Grave at the rather unusual Grave Hall. All sorts of strange things are happening - certainly there are some questionable culinary experiments happening in the kitchen, but when a talking raven sets her straight about the dastardly deeds going on all around her, Lucy is determined to solve the mystery of the missing children that is dominating the headlines. Could she be sharing a roof with the culprit himself?

A nicely produced package with gloss detail on the cover and attractive interior illustrations from Becka Moor make this a tempting new series for young fans of mystery and intrigue. With an opening sequence that sets the bar high for a tale of the unexpected, Justine Windsor gives us a hardy heroine and a new series that will appeal to fans of Mariella Mystery and Sally Gardner's Wings & Co. books.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Operation Bunny

Author: Sally Gardner Illustrator: David Roberts

In the first case for the Fairy Detective Agency, Wings and Co, resourceful heroine Emily Vole must defeat the dastardly fairy-snatching villain Harpella.

Read more about Operation Bunny

Fantastically Great Women Who Changed The World

Author: Kate Pankhurst

Written and illustrated by a direct descendant of suffragette Emmeline Pankhurst, this colourful picture book is full of facts about 13 inspirational women from history, showcasing their achievements in a fun and accessible way.

Read more about Fantastically Great Women Who Changed The World