Chickens Can't See in the Dark

Publisher: Oxford University Press

Little Pippa Chicken becomes the talk of Sunnyside Farm in this entertaining picture book.

When teacher Mr Benedict tells his class that chickens can’t see in the dark, the desperately disappointed Pippa decides to prove him wrong. Wise Mr Owl and Miss Featherbrain the librarian just laugh at her - but then Pippa unearths a copy of Old Hen’s Tales which reveals that carrots will help you see in the dark.

Pippa lays on an incredible carrot feast; carrot cookies, curry, quiches, and caramels. As everyone tucks in the sky grows dark and the moonlight reveals a glimmering, mysterious world they’ve never seen before.

Children will love the engaging illustrations brimming with quirky details, including hen houses to die for, in this appealing picture book. A jaunty tale about daring to be different, and finding things out for yourself.

More books like this

The Cave

Author: Rob Hodgson

There is a cave that is home to a creature: a creature that never leaves its cave… Because of the wolf. A laugh-out-loud story with a very BIG surprise and some glorious artwork: perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Chris Haughton.

Read more about The Cave

Mwnci Bach / Little Monkey

Author: Marta Altes Adapted by Elin Meek

Lleia' i gyd wyt ti, mwya' i gyd y gall dy anturiaethau di fod. Stori ddwyieithog fywiog wedi'i darlunio'n hyfryd am fwnci bach yn mentro allan i'r byd mawr yn y jyngl. 


The smaller you are, the bigger your adventures can be! A lively bilingual story, beautifully illustrated, about a little monkey venturing out into the great big world of the jungle.&n…

Read more about Mwnci Bach / Little Monkey

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...