Catwad: It's Me

Publisher: Scholastic

Catwad, a grumpy blue cat, is best friends with Blurmp, a relentlessly happy and pretty stupid orange cat. In the fine tradition of cat cartoons like Garfield and Grumpy Cat, Catwad and Blurmp navigate the nitty gritty of life at the chalk face of being: ordering pizza, brushing your teeth, truth or dare, making lemonade and the crushing inevitability of rainbows.

Rather than one whole comic book-length story, Catwad: It’s Me comprises many short comic strips, some just one page long and others that stretch for a number of pages, meaning you can open it pretty much anywhere and dive straight in – ideal for those looking for a quick read and for kids with short attention spans. The silly humour is perfect for fans of Spongebob Squarepants or those who love the surreal and hilarious, and the minimalist style means there aren’t any complicated backdrops or visual puns to decode. A really fun comic, very accessible and easy to read.

More books like this

Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea!

Author: Ben Clanton

Narwhal is a happy-go-lucky sea creature whose amazing horn-like tooth on his forehead earns him the nickname "unicorn of the sea". When he meets a jellyfish, they become firm friends. A quirky chapter book with a mixture of fun facts and nonsense stories.

Read more about Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea!

Magnificent Mabel and the Rabbit Riot

Author: Ruth Quayle Illustrator: Julia Christians

Mabel is desperate for a pet rabbit, and absolutely furious when her big sister is given on for her birthday. Deciding Meg doesn't know how to care for a rabbit, Mabel takes matters into her own hands... Mabel's no nonsense approach to life is hilarious and her observation that "sometimes life isn't even fair" will resonate with young readers, who will love …

Read more about Magnificent Mabel and the Rabbit Riot

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...