Catwad: It's Me

Publisher: Scholastic

Catwad, a grumpy blue cat, is best friends with Blurmp, a relentlessly happy and pretty stupid orange cat. In the fine tradition of cat cartoons like Garfield and Grumpy Cat, Catwad and Blurmp navigate the nitty gritty of life at the chalk face of being: ordering pizza, brushing your teeth, truth or dare, making lemonade and the crushing inevitability of rainbows.

Rather than one whole comic book-length story, Catwad: It’s Me comprises many short comic strips, some just one page long and others that stretch for a number of pages, meaning you can open it pretty much anywhere and dive straight in – ideal for those looking for a quick read and for kids with short attention spans. The silly humour is perfect for fans of Spongebob Squarepants or those who love the surreal and hilarious, and the minimalist style means there aren’t any complicated backdrops or visual puns to decode. A really fun comic, very accessible and easy to read.

More books like this

Badly Drawn Beth

Author: Knife & Packer

A comic/storybook crossover where hilarious heroine, Beth, charts her survival of school, friends (best and worst), the dreaded family barbecue and other natural disasters.

Read more about Badly Drawn Beth

Kenny Wright: Superhero

Author: James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts Illustrator: Cory Thomas

This entertaining book tackles the serious issues of bullying, poverty and difficult family circumstances with a light-hearted touch. Short chapters and the use of comic strip drawings to illustrate Stainlezz Steel's imaginary escapades make this is an accessible and amusing read.

Read more about Kenny Wright: Superhero

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...