Catwad: It's Me

Publisher: Scholastic

Catwad, a grumpy blue cat, is best friends with Blurmp, a relentlessly happy and pretty stupid orange cat. In the fine tradition of cat cartoons like Garfield and Grumpy Cat, Catwad and Blurmp navigate the nitty gritty of life at the chalk face of being: ordering pizza, brushing your teeth, truth or dare, making lemonade and the crushing inevitability of rainbows.

Rather than one whole comic book-length story, Catwad: It’s Me comprises many short comic strips, some just one page long and others that stretch for a number of pages, meaning you can open it pretty much anywhere and dive straight in – ideal for those looking for a quick read and for kids with short attention spans. The silly humour is perfect for fans of Spongebob Squarepants or those who love the surreal and hilarious, and the minimalist style means there aren’t any complicated backdrops or visual puns to decode. A really fun comic, very accessible and easy to read.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Nits!

Author: Stephanie Blake Translator: Linda Burgess

A funny, light-hearted picture book about a common childhood issue that will prompt plenty of chuckles and delight young fans of Simon, the little rabbit with lots of personality.

Read more about Nits!

McTavish on the Move

Author: Meg Rossoff Illustrator: David Shephard (in the style of Grace Easton)

McTavish is the beloved dog of the Peachey family and this is their fourth exciting adventure. Here, the Peachey family are moving house. Betty is struggling with leaving her home, school and friends behind, but nobody has noticed –  except McTavish. 

Read more about McTavish on the Move