Caramel Hearts

(1 reviews with an average rating of 4 out of 5)

Publisher: Alma Books

Life is complicated for 14-year-old Liv Bloom. Her father walked out when she was young, her mum is in a recovery centre for alcoholics, and her older sister is struggling to take care of the family. 

One day, Liv discovers a book of recipes written in her mother's handwriting, and this sets her off on a journey towards self-discovery and reconciliation - all structured around some real cake recipes.

A beautifully told story about what it takes to get through hard times, and the power of family, friendship and baking. Recommended for fans of Sarah Crossan, Eve Ainsworth, and Jandy Nelson.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Crush

Author: Eve Ainsworth

This sensitive and thoughtful look at the dynamics of abusive relationships presents both victim and aggressor as three-dimensional characters. Thought-provoking and essential reading.

Read more about Crush

Beautiful Broken Things

Author: Sara Barnard

Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Then Suzanne comes into their lives, and things get a whole lot more complicated. Heartfelt, hopeful, and surprisingly funny at times, this is a gorgeous tribute to female friendship.

Read more about Beautiful Broken Things