Anisha, Accidental Detective

Publisher: Usborne

10 year-old Anisha’s ultra dramatic Aunty Bindi is getting married tomorrow so tensions are already running high before the ‘wedding of the year’ - and things only get worse when Anisha gets a note saying Bindi’s groom Uncle Tony has been kidnapped, and won’t be released until the wedding is cancelled! It's up to Anisha to find Uncle Tony with the help of her best friend Milo, and she has a hunch the culprit is somebody close to the family. She needs to use her scientific skills of logic and deduction to track down Uncle Tony in time for his wedding.

This is a highly amusing, fast-paced debut in a very promising new detective series. The humour is deft, the dialogue great and Anisha’s multi-generational British Indian family is an inclusive and wonderful world to escape into. This book is delightfully illustrated by Emma McCann in an expressive and amusing way – and the graphic elements of the text make this book accessible and a  fun read. Great for children who like to laugh while they’re reading and perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart. We can’t wait to read the next book in the series, especially after reading the taster chapter at the end of the book!

More books like this

Planet Omar: Unexpected Super Spy

Author: Zanib Mian Illustrator: Nasaya Mafaridik

Omar's mosque is in danger of being closed down, so quick-thinking Omar holds a school talent show to raise the money needed for the emergency building repairs. When the money goes missing, it's up to Omar and his friends to become super spies to track down the culprit!

Read more about Planet Omar: Unexpected Super Spy

Wigglesbottom Primary: Super Dog

Author: Pamela Butchart Illustrator: Becka Moor

From the winner of the Blue Peter Best Story Award come three new tales in one rip-roaring book. Comical illustrations complement this selection of funny school stories.

Read more about Wigglesbottom Primary: Super Dog

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...