The Person Controller

(1 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Review

Twins Fred and Ellie are extremely close and like doing all the same things - video games, for one. However, they're lousy at games, invisible to the popular kids, and a target for school bullies (and fellow twins) Isla and Morris.

Everything changes when the duo meet the Mystery Man, who sends them a special video game controller. This device can help them win fights, score amazing goals and even change the way they look.

But do they really need these things to feel successful and popular? And what will happen when the Person Controller runs out of power…?

All of the characters in this wry, funny book are nicely observed, with little behavioural quirks. There is a sweet little moral here about self-belief and using your unique talents to stand out from the crowd.

There is also enough excitement and fantasy to keep children turning the pages - especially those who love video games and football.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Parent Agency

Author: David Baddiel

Barry Bennett has a long list of things he dislikes about his parents, but what if the tables were turned and children could choose their parents? What would Barry do?

Read more about The Parent Agency

The Tapper Twins Go to War (With Each Other)

Author: Geoff Rodkey

This fun illustrated report of the twins' argument will appeal to fans of Dork Diaries and Wimpy Kids. The humour and references are up-to-the-minute current.

Read more about The Tapper Twins Go to War (With Each Other)