The 5 Misfits

Publisher: Lincoln Children’s Books

Review

Five "misfits" live in a lopsided house, which is in danger of falling down any minute: the first has four big holes in his tummy, the second is folded in half, the third is always asleep, the fourth is upside down, and everything is wrong with the fifth one. However, they are completely happy.

One day, though, an apparently perfect creature arrives and tries to give the five misfits a sense of purpose, and is disgusted with their lack of enthusiasm for the plan. Yet when the misfits explain the benefits of being the way they are, it’s the Perfect One that looks silly.

Beatrice Alemagna’s highly original illustration style is a wonderful mix of collage and pencil, and her quirky, lovable story about the importance of being yourself –  especially when you might be regarded as odd by others –  is a jewel among children’s books. Though it will definitely appeal to fans of Jon Klassen and Carson Ellis for the more sophisticated art style, the short, amusing text will entertain younger listeners, too.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Secret Friends

Author: Elizabeth Laird Illustrator: Jason Cockcroft

Rafaella suffers daily name-calling from her peers. Lucy feels partly responsible, having herself invented the nickname 'Earwig' as a result of Rafaella’s prominent ears.

Read more about Secret Friends

Princess Poppy: A True Princess

Author: Janey Louise Jones Illustrator: Samantha Chaffey

Poppy is fed up. Her best friend Honey is prettier, kinder and seems to have a much more exciting time than Poppy.

Read more about Princess Poppy: A True Princess