Frostheart

Publisher: Puffin

Ash’s parents abandoned him before he was born. Now he lives in one of the lonely strongholds where tribes survive on rocky outcrops, surrounded by snowy wastes. Here, monsters called Lurkers wait to devour anyone who sets foot on their territory, and the Snow Sea is full of danger.

When a group of travellers arrive, Ash discovers more about his absent parents. Even more mysteriously, he may have a magical power: song weaving. But is his power good, or terribly dangerous? Will his parents ever return, and will his grumpy Yeti guardian Tobu ever cheer up? All Ash can really say for sure is that once the crew of the Frostheart whisk Ash away for a thrilling adventure, his life will change forever.

This inventive story is helped along by vivid illustrations that conjure up a world populated by yetis and monsters that live under the snow. Jamie Littler’s first novel (he is well known for his illustration of books such as You Can’t Make Me Go To Witch School! and Hamish and the Neverpeople) is a frosty delight, depicting a fantasy world with brilliant and well-realised characters and a page-turning adventure. Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell.

More books like this

Neon’s Secret Universe

Author: Sibéal Pounder Illustrator: Sarah Warburton

Unless Neon Gallup can learn to command goo (the source of Unicorn magic) before her 10th birthday, she’ll be trapped in the UniVerse forever. A zany, funny and irrepressibly bright fantasy adventure.

Read more about Neon’s Secret Universe

The Dentist of Darkness

Author: David O’Connell Illustrator: Claire Powell

Funny and fast-paced, this entertaining story is bursting with mystery, sweets and ancient magic. The enthralling plot, wacky characters and larger-than-life villains are brought to life by witty black-and-white illustrations. 

Read more about The Dentist of Darkness

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...