Frostheart

Publisher: Puffin

Review

Ash’s parents abandoned him before he was born. Now he lives in one of the lonely strongholds where tribes survive on rocky outcrops, surrounded by snowy wastes. Here, monsters called Lurkers wait to devour anyone who sets foot on their territory, and the Snow Sea is full of danger.

When a group of travellers arrive, Ash discovers more about his absent parents. Even more mysteriously, he may have a magical power: song weaving. But is his power good, or terribly dangerous? Will his parents ever return, and will his grumpy Yeti guardian Tobu ever cheer up? All Ash can really say for sure is that once the crew of the Frostheart whisk Ash away for a thrilling adventure, his life will change forever.

This inventive story is helped along by vivid illustrations that conjure up a world populated by yetis and monsters that live under the snow. Jamie Littler’s first novel (he is well known for his illustration of books such as You Can’t Make Me Go To Witch School! and Hamish and the Neverpeople) is a frosty delight, depicting a fantasy world with brilliant and well-realised characters and a page-turning adventure. Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Switching Hour

Author: Damaris Young

Courage, determination and friendship abound in this spine-tingling fantasy adventure. A gripping read, which will prompt readers to securely lock their doors and windows at night.

Read more about The Switching Hour

Wundersmith

Author: Jessica Townsend

The second book set in the magical world of Nevermoor, and Morrigan Crow is now officially a member of the much coveted Wundrous Society, or "Wunsoc". Ideal for Harry Potter fans, with masterful storytelling, twisty plotting and thrilling magic. 

Read more about Wundersmith