Frostheart

Publisher: Puffin

Ash’s parents abandoned him before he was born. Now he lives in one of the lonely strongholds where tribes survive on rocky outcrops, surrounded by snowy wastes. Here, monsters called Lurkers wait to devour anyone who sets foot on their territory, and the Snow Sea is full of danger.

When a group of travellers arrive, Ash discovers more about his absent parents. Even more mysteriously, he may have a magical power: song weaving. But is his power good, or terribly dangerous? Will his parents ever return, and will his grumpy Yeti guardian Tobu ever cheer up? All Ash can really say for sure is that once the crew of the Frostheart whisk Ash away for a thrilling adventure, his life will change forever.

This inventive story is helped along by vivid illustrations that conjure up a world populated by yetis and monsters that live under the snow. Jamie Littler’s first novel (he is well known for his illustration of books such as You Can’t Make Me Go To Witch School! and Hamish and the Neverpeople) is a frosty delight, depicting a fantasy world with brilliant and well-realised characters and a page-turning adventure. Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell.

More books like this

Ace Ghosts

Author: Karen Wallace Illustrator: Tony Ross

A humorous first 'chapters' book for newly independent readers or suitable for reading aloud to younger children. Pen and ink illustrations add interest and humour.

Read more about Ace Ghosts

The Wizards of Once: Never and Forever

Author: Cressida Cowell

Wish and Xar face one last battle as Cressida Cowell's Wizards of Once series comes to a close in this compelling, mesmerising and captivating final instalment.

Read more about The Wizards of Once: Never and Forever

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...