Frostheart

Publisher: Puffin

Ash’s parents abandoned him before he was born. Now he lives in one of the lonely strongholds where tribes survive on rocky outcrops, surrounded by snowy wastes. Here, monsters called Lurkers wait to devour anyone who sets foot on their territory, and the Snow Sea is full of danger.

When a group of travellers arrive, Ash discovers more about his absent parents. Even more mysteriously, he may have a magical power: song weaving. But is his power good, or terribly dangerous? Will his parents ever return, and will his grumpy Yeti guardian Tobu ever cheer up? All Ash can really say for sure is that once the crew of the Frostheart whisk Ash away for a thrilling adventure, his life will change forever.

This inventive story is helped along by vivid illustrations that conjure up a world populated by yetis and monsters that live under the snow. Jamie Littler’s first novel (he is well known for his illustration of books such as You Can’t Make Me Go To Witch School! and Hamish and the Neverpeople) is a frosty delight, depicting a fantasy world with brilliant and well-realised characters and a page-turning adventure. Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell.

More books like this

Quest

Author: Various Editor: Daniel Hahn

This outstanding collection, which effectively showcases the work of talented authors, illustrators and translators from around the world, is utterly captivating and cannot be recommended highly enough.

Read more about Quest

Dragon Red

Author: Shoo Rayner

This exciting climax to a thrilling trilogy will have readers on the edge of their seats. Themes of friendship, loyalty and bravery blend with fascinating Welsh legends to create a humorous chapter book with entertaining illustrations.

Read more about Dragon Red

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...