Frostheart

Publisher: Puffin

Ash’s parents abandoned him before he was born. Now he lives in one of the lonely strongholds where tribes survive on rocky outcrops, surrounded by snowy wastes. Here, monsters called Lurkers wait to devour anyone who sets foot on their territory, and the Snow Sea is full of danger.

When a group of travellers arrive, Ash discovers more about his absent parents. Even more mysteriously, he may have a magical power: song weaving. But is his power good, or terribly dangerous? Will his parents ever return, and will his grumpy Yeti guardian Tobu ever cheer up? All Ash can really say for sure is that once the crew of the Frostheart whisk Ash away for a thrilling adventure, his life will change forever.

This inventive story is helped along by vivid illustrations that conjure up a world populated by yetis and monsters that live under the snow. Jamie Littler’s first novel (he is well known for his illustration of books such as You Can’t Make Me Go To Witch School! and Hamish and the Neverpeople) is a frosty delight, depicting a fantasy world with brilliant and well-realised characters and a page-turning adventure. Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell.

More books like this

Princess BMX

Author: Marie Basting Illustrator: Flavia Sorrentino

Princess Avariella is heir to the throne of the magical kingdom of Biscotti. Bored of behaving with grace and decorum, she gets a BMX bike. A fast-paced contemporary fairy tale with quirky characters, a hilarious plot and funny black-and-white illustrations.

Read more about Princess BMX

Beast Quest: New Blood

Author: Adam Blade

Three children discover they are descendants of the Guardians of Avantia, courageous heroes who entered the human world through a portal. Full of monsters, dragons and magic, this fantasy adventure is enhanced by striking graphic novel-style illustrations.

Read more about Beast Quest: New Blood

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...