The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2015

Latest update 'The judges for 2015's award have been announced'

Richard Eyre, Aminatta Forna, Alex Clark, Elif Shafak and Andrew Holgate to judge the sixth year of The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award

A prestigious panel of judges has been announced for the world's most valuable prize for a single short story. The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award is worth £30,000 to the winning author. This year's judging panel will comprise director and producer Sir Richard Eyre, critic and commentator Alex Clark, novelist and short story-writer Aminatta Forna, and, for the second time, internationally acclaimed Turkish novelist, columnist and speaker Elif Shafak. Andrew Holgate, Literary Editor of The Sunday Times completes the line-up, alongside the non-voting chair of judges Matthew Evans.

Sir Richard Eyre said:
I'm thrilled to be a judge of The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award. I'm fascinated by the form of the short story - the compression, the detail and the poetic resonance. Whole lives and whole worlds can be revealed in a limited number of words. The best short stories are the best of literature in any form.



Stay updated with the Award on the Booktrust website or the Sunday Times website. You can also follow the award and all the latest news and updates by following @ShortStoryAward on Twitter and by using the  #STEFG hashtag.


Find out how to enter and read our terms and conditions


About the The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2015

Launched in 2009 by Lord Matthew Evans, former chairman of EFG Private Bank and Cathy Galvin from The Sunday Times, The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award is the richest prize for a single short story in the English language open to any novelist or short story writer from around the world who is published in the UK. Worth £30,000 to the winner, and £1,000 to each of the shortlisted authors, the annual award aims to promote and celebrate the excellence of the modern short story, and has attracted entries from some of the world's finest writers.


Winners of the ­international competition, which is open to stories of up to 6,000 words written in English, have come from all over the world, and have included the Pulitzer prize-­winning American writer Junot Diaz, CK Stead from New ­Zealand and Kevin Barry from ­Ireland. Last year's recipient of the award was the Pulitzer winner Adam Johnson for his haunting story 'Nirvana'.


The prize has an immensely rich heritage, with some of the finest writers from America, Britain, Ireland and the Commonwealth appearing on its longlists and shortlists - among them Emma Donoghue, Adam Foulds, Mark Haddon, Sarah Hall, Yiyun Li, Hilary Mantel, Ali Smith, Elizabeth Strout, Graham Swift and Gerard Woodward. It also has a fine record of uncovering new talent, with 27-year-old UEA graduate Anna Metcalfe making the shortlist in 2014.


The anthologies of previous shortlisted stories, Six Shorts are published as ebooks and are available to download. The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award stages two reading events each year when outstanding actors read shortlisted stories hosted by Foyles in their flagship store on Charing Cross Road, London and partnered with WordTheatre, the story performance specialists. Recordings of these readings are available to download and listen from


Previous winners

2014 Adam Johnson with 'Nirvana'

2013 Junot Diaz with 'Miss Lora'

2012 Kevin Barry with 'Beer Trip to Llandudno'

2011 Anthony Doerr with 'The Deep'

2010 CK Stead with 'Last Season's Man'

2015's Award is no longer accepting entries.